

Expiration Date

**CSR** Signature

Document Number

## BORN IN VIRGINIA VIRGINIA BIRTH CERTIFICATE APPLICATION

Purpose: Customers born in Virginia (from 1912 to the present) use this form to request a Virginia birth certificate in person.

Instructions: The requester - the person submitting this application - must show an acceptable identification document(s) from the list on the back of this form and provide payment to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Submit to any DMV Customer Service Center.

NOTE: Fees paid for a birth certificate/vital records search are non-refundable. Virginia statutes require DMV to charge a fee of \$14.00 (which includes a \$2.00 administrative fee) for each search regardless of whether a certification of a vital record is completed or not found. If paying by check, make check payable to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). There is an \$85.00 service charge for returned checks. Requests that cannot be completed by DMV will be forwarded to the Virginia Department of Health/Division of Vital Records. The State Registrar of Vital Records reserves the right to accept or deny any application (Virginia Code §32.1-271 (C)).

REQUESTER INFORMATION						
REQUESTER NAME (print)	· (last)	(first)		(middle)		(suffix)
REQUESTER ADDRESS		C	CITY		STATE	ZIP CODE
GENDER REQUESTER EMAIL					TELEF	PHONE NUMBER
RELATIONSHIP OF REQUESTER TO PERSON NAMED ON THE CERTIFICATE (check one)						
SELF MOTHER FATHER CHILD SISTER BROTHER CURRENT SPOUSE						
MATERNAL GRANDPARENT PATERNAL GRANDPARENT LEGAL GUARDIAN -(must show court approved custody papers)						
LEGAL REPRESENTATIVE (additional documents - Bar Card/Power of Attorney required)						IMEDIATE FAMILY Record Request only)
REASON FOR REQUESTING						
RETIREMENT   SCHOOL: Pre-K to 12   TRAVEL   PASSPORT   EMPLOYMENT   HOUSING   INSURANCE						
DMV LICENSE OR ID CARD VETERANS BENEFITS ONLY OTHER (specify)						
PUBLIC RECORD REQUEST - (records at least 100 years old)						
BIRTH CERTIFICATE INFORMATION						
NUMBER OF COPIES NAM	E AT BIRTH (print) - (last)	(first)		(middle)		(suffix)
If name has changed sind due to adoption, court orc any reason other than ma	der or BIRTH NAME CH	HANGED TO: (print) (la	ist)	(first)	(middle)	(suffix)
enter the changed name here.						
BIRTH DATE (mm/dd/yyyy)   GENDER   BIRTH PLACE (Virginia city or county)   BIRTH HOSPITAL (optional)     MALE   FEMALE   FEMALE   BIRTH PLACE (Virginia city or county)   BIRTH HOSPITAL (optional)						
MOTHER FULL MAIDEN NA (print) - (last)	ME (print mother 's name be	efore first marriage/name (first)	at time of mother's b	virth) (middle)		(suffix)
FATHER FULL NAME (if know	wn) (print) - (last)	(first)		(middle)		(suffix)
CERTIFICATION						
I understand that making a false application for a Vital Record is a Felony under state and federal law. I also certify and affirm that all information presented in this form is true and correct, that any documents I have presented to DMV are genuine, and that the information included in all supporting documentation is true and accurate. I make this certification and affirmation under penalty of perjury and I understand that knowingly making a false statement or representation on this form is a criminal violation.						
REQUESTER SIGNATURE						(mm/dd/yyyy)
DMV USE ONLY						
ID Documents Requester Presented (must be 1 primary or 2 secondary documents from the list on the back)						
	Primary 1 or S	Secondary 1	S	econdary 2	(	CSR STAMP
Type of Identification						

## ACCEPTABLE IDENTIFICATION DOCUMENTS

The following is a list of Primary and Secondary documents which are acceptable to the Virginia Department of Health, Division of Vital Records for the purpose of certifying a birth and/or producing a birth certificate. One Primary Document or two Secondary Documents must be submitted in order to conduct a certification.

- Documents must be originals. Temporary documents and photocopies will not be accepted.
- A document will not be accepted when there is reason to believe it has been altered, fraudulently obtained or is fake, forged, counterfeit, or otherwise non-genuine or illegitimate. Altering, manufacturing, selling or possessing a fraudulent birth certificate, driver's license or ID card, falsifying information or assisting a person with improperly or fraudulently obtaining a certification is a criminal offense.

**Name:** Make sure that your name appears the same on all proof documents. If your middle name or middle initial begins with the same letter, but is not spelled out or displayed on all of your documents, your documents may be accepted. Nicknames will not be accepted. If your name appears differently on your proof documents, you may be asked to present additional documentation.

(The acceptable documents listed may change without prior notice.)

## PRIMARY DOCUMENTS

Driver's license issued by a U.S. state, territory, or jurisdiction unexpired or expired for not more than one year  $% \left( {{{\rm{D}}_{\rm{T}}}} \right)$ 

Learner's/instruction permit issued by a U.S. state, territory, or jurisdiction unexpired or expired for not more than one year  $% \left( {{{\rm{D}}_{\rm{T}}}} \right) = {{\rm{D}}_{\rm{T}}} \left( {{{\rm{D}}_{\rm{T}}}} \right) = {{{\rm{D}}_{\rm{T}}}} \left( {{{\rm{D}}_{\rm{T}}}} \right) = {{{\rm{D}}_{\rm{T}}}} \left( {{{\rm{D}}_{\rm{T}}}} \right) = {{{\rm{D}}_{\rm{T}}} \left( {{{\rm{D}}_{\rm{T}}}} \right) = {{{\rm{D}}_{\rm{T}}}} \left( {{{\rm{D}}_{\rm{T}}}} \right) = {{{\rm{D}}_{\rm{T}}}} \left( {{{\rm{D}}_{\rm{T}}}} \right) = {{{\rm{D}}_{\rm{T}}}} \left( {{{\rm{D}}_{\rm{T}}}} \right) = {{{\rm{D}}_{\rm{T}}} \left( {{{\rm{D}}_{\rm{T}}}} \right) = {{{\rm{D}}_{\rm{T}}} \left( {{{\rm{D}}_{\rm{T}}}} \right) = {{{\rm{D}}_{\rm{T}}} \left( {{{\rm{D}}_{\rm{T}}}} \right) = {{{\rm{D}}_{\rm{T}}}} \left( {{{\rm{D}}_{\rm{T}}}} \right) = {{{\rm{D}}_{\rm{T}}} \left( {{{\rm$ 

Photo identification card issued by a U.S. state, territory, or jurisdiction unexpired or expired for not more than one year  $% \left( {{{\rm{D}}_{\rm{T}}}} \right)$ 

Current Photo ID card, (school and employment with identification number). Check Cashing Cards are not acceptable

Unexpired U.S. military ID card of an active duty or retired member

U.S. Passport or passport card - unexpired

Unexpired Foreign Passport with VISA, I-94 or I-94W

U.S. Certificate of Naturalization - (form N-550, N-570 or N-578)

U.S. Certificate of Citizenship - (form N-560 or N-561)

U.S. Citizen Identification Card - (form I-197)

Temporary Resident Card - unexpired - (form I-688)

Employment Authorization Card - unexpired - (form I-688A, I-688B or I-766)

Refugee Travel Document - unexpired - (form I-571)

Resident Alien Card - unexpired - (form I-551)

Permanent Resident Card - unexpired - (form I-551)

Northern Marianas Card - unexpired - (form I-551)

Asylum - A copy of the first and last page of application for Asylum

Consular Report of Birth Abroad (form FS-240)

Certificate of Birth Abroad (FS-545)

Certification of Report of Birth of a U.S. Citizen (DS-1350)

Virginia Criminal Justice Agency Offender Information Form

United States Probation Offender Information Form

## SECONDARY DOCUMENTS U.S. Selective Service Card

U.S. military discharge papers (form DD214)

Certified School Records/Transcript issued by a U.S. state or territory Certificate of Enrollment issued by Virginia Department of Education Life insurance policy

Health care insurance card - (i.e. Medicare Card/ Medicaid Card) Unexpired welfare/social services identification card with photo, issued by a municipality

State-issued driver's license or learner's/instruction permit, with photo, expired not more than 5 years

State-issued photo identification card expired not more than 5 years

U.S. Passport or passport card - expired not more than 5 years

Unexpired military dependent ID card, with photo

Foreign Passport - expired not more than 5 years, with a U.S. VISA  $\cdot$  Unexpired weapons or gun permit issued by federal, state or municipal government

Unexpired pilot's license

Veterans' Universal Access Identification Card

 $\operatorname{INS}$  form I-797 (applicable only for individuals whose names appear on the form)

USCIS student or dependent SEVIS I-20 with or without USCIS stamp (Applicant's name must appear on the form)

U.S. Department of State form DS-2019 (Applicant's name must appear on the form)  $% \label{eq:states}$