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will help you learn and
understand safe driving practices. Study this manual to prepare for the knowledge
test, obtain a Virginia driver’s license and become a safe driver.

The information contained in this manual should be used as a general guide to the
motor vehicle laws but not as a substitute for the Code of Virginia, which contains
the laws that govern Virginia drivers and vehicles.

If you are learning to drive, this manual will give you information you need to study
for the knowledge exam. If you already have a Virginia driver’s license, review this
manual for new laws or rules of the road.

Driving is a privilege, not a right. Your driver’s license carries with it a great
responsibility to be courteous of other drivers on the roadways and follow state and
federal motoring laws.

This manual is also available on the DMV website, www.dmvNOW.com.

DMV offers the Virginia Driver’s Manual in an audio format for Virginians with
special needs. The audio version is available at www.dmvNOW.com.
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In this section you'll learn about:

» Two-part knowledge exam
» Road skills test
» Vision screening

» Vision standards

a vision screening and may
include a two-part knowledge exam and a road skills test. A
DMV representative will tell you which tests you need to take.

Two-Part Knowledge Exam

You will need to take the knowledge exam if you do not hold a
valid driver’s license from another U. S. state, Canada, Germany,
France, or the Republic of Korea. The two-part knowledge exam
is given on a computer and tests your knowledge of traffic signs,
motor vehicle laws, and safe driving. Exam questions are taken
from information in this manual. You must correctly answer

all ten traffic sign questions in part one of the exam before

you can take part two of the exam. Part two tests your general
knowledge with multiple choice questions. You must answer at
least 80 percent of these questions correctly to pass part two.

If you fail the exam and you are:

» Under age 18 — by law you must wait a full 15 days
before you can retake the exam. For example, if you
fail the exam on January 1, the earliest you can take the
exam again is January 17.

» Age 18 or older — you must pay a $2.00 fee if you
retake the exam within 15 days.

The exam may be taken only once per business day. An audio
version of the exam is available and the exam is offered in many
different languages and American Sign Language. Therefore,
translators may not be used for tests in offered languages.

If you fail the driver’s license knowledge exam three times, you
will not be able to take it a fourth time until you complete and
pass the classroom part of driver education at a driver training
school approved by DMV or the Department of Education.
Customers age 19 and older have the option of completing
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a course based on the Virginia Driver’s Manual. The completion
date for each course must be after the date you failed the
knowledge exam the third time. When you successfully
complete the course and give DMV your certificate of
completion, you can take the knowledge exam again.

When testing, you cannot:
» get help while taking the exam
help another person taking the exam
try to get test questions or answers before the exam

4
4
» give another person exam questions or answers
4

use a cell phone during the exam

A sample knowledge exam is in Section 8 of this manual and
at www.dmvNOW.com.

Services for Persons With Disabilities

Customers with special needs or who require special help
with applications or testing should tell a DMV staff member
at any DMV location.

Road Skills Test

You will need to take the road skills test if you do not hold a
valid driver’s license from another U. S. state, Canada, Germany,
France, or the Republic of Korea. You must provide a vehicle

for the road skills test (cannot be taken in an autocycle). The
vehicle must have a valid safety inspection sticker, license plates,
registration card and decals, working brakes, safety belts, horn,
lights, turn signals, mirrors and speedometer.

To take the road skills test, the DMV examiner will require
that you either:

» present an acceptable driver’s education certificate of
completion, or

» complete a behind-the-wheel checklist (DMV form
CSMA 19 available at www.dmvNOW.com or any DMV
office) that describes specific driving tasks that you may
be asked to perform while taking the road skills test. A
licensed driver will need to certify on the form that he/
she has been with you while you practiced the driving
tasks and that you have complied with all requirements
for learner’s permit holders while operating a motor
vehicle.

For applicants under 19, the road skills test will be given as
part of the driver education course taken at a public, private
or commercial driving school. If you are home schooled, refer
to the Home-Schooled In-Car Driver Education Information
Sheet (HS 3) for more information about taking the road skills
test.

Applicants age 19 or older must hold the learner’s permit for
60 days prior to the first road skills test or complete a course

of driver’s education at a driver training school approved by

DMV or the Department of Education. For applicants who
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choose to take driver’s education, the road skills test will be
administered by the driver training school. For those who opt

to hold a learner’s permit for 60 days, the road skills test will be
given by a DMV staff member. The test may be taken only once
per business day. If you fail the road skills test, you must wait
two days to take it again. If you fail the road skills test at DMV
three times, you will not be able to take it a fourth time until
you complete and pass the in-vehicle part of driver education at
a driver training school approved by DMV or the Department of
Education. The completion date for the in-vehicle part must be
after the date you failed the road skills test the third time. Once
you successfully complete the in-vehicle part and give DMV
your certificate of completion, you can take the road skills test
again.

Vision Screening

To screen your vision, a DMV staff member will ask you to
look into a machine and read a series of letters or numbers.
The vision screening is not a medical exam. The screening
shows whether your vision meets Virginia’s standards to safely
drive. If you fail the vision screening, you may be asked to visit
an eye care professional.

If you need to wear glasses or contact lenses to pass the vision
screening, you must wear them when you drive. Your license
will display an X for this restriction. To have this restriction
removed after having laser surgery to correct your vision, you
must visit a DMV customer service center and pass the vision
screening without wearing glasses or contact lenses or submit a
Vision Screening Report (MED 4).

Vision Standards
Driver’s license — unrestricted
»  20/40 or better vision in one or both eyes, and

» 100 degrees, or better, horizontal vision in one or both
eyes, or comparable measurement that shows a field of
vision within this range.

Driving - restricted to daylight hours only
» 20/70 or better vision in one or both eyes, and

» 70 degrees, or better, horizontal vision. If you have
vision in only one eye, you must have horizontal vision
of at least 30 degrees or better when looking toward
your nose and 40 degrees or better when looking
toward your temple, or comparable measurement that
shows a field of vision within this range.

A daylight driving only restricted license permits you to drive
only during the period of time beginning a half-hour after
sunrise and ending a half-hour before sunset.

Bioptic telescopic lenses: If you wear bioptic telescopic
lenses, read the DMV publication Driver’s Licensing
Information for Bioptic Telescopic Lense Wearers (MED 44)
available at www.dmvNOW.com or contact DMV

at (804) 497-7100.



In this section you'll learn about:

v v v Vv

Traffic signals
Traffic signs
Pavement markings
Painted curbs

Section 2:
Signals, Signs and
Pavement Markings

are used for traffic

control to provide a smooth, orderly flow of traffic. It is
important to understand and obey them. It is illegal to avoid
these traffic controls by cutting through a parking lot or field.

Obey all signs and signals unless directed by a police officer;
always follow the officer’s direction.

Traffic Signals

Traffic signals apply to drivers, motorcycle riders, bicyclists,
moped-riders and pedestrians.

Red light: At a red light, come to a complete stop
at the stop line or, if there is no stop line, before
entering the intersection or before reaching the
crosswalk. Remain stopped as long as the signal is
red, unless turns are allowed.

Right turn on red: You may turn right while the traffic signal
displays a red light. Before turning, you must come to a
complete stop. Look both ways and yield the right-of-way to
pedestrians and other traffic. Be sure to check for less visible
vehicles such as motorcycles, bicycles and mopeds. You may
not turn right on red if signs are posted at the intersection that
read “No Turn on Red,” or if a red arrow pointing to the right is
displayed.

Left turn on red: You may turn left at a red light if you are on
a one-way street and turning left onto another one-way street
while the traffic signal displays a red light. Before turning, you
must come to a complete stop. Look both ways and yield the
right-of-way to pedestrians and other traffic. Be sure to check
for less visible vehicles such as motorcycles, bicycles, and
mopeds. You may not turn left on red if signs are posted at
the intersection that read “No Turn on Red,” or if a red arrow
pointing to the left is displayed.
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Red arrow: A red arrow means you must stop if you intend to
move in the direction of the arrow. You may not
proceed in the direction of the arrow as long

as the red arrow is displayed, unless signs are
posted at the intersection that read “Right on
Red Arrow After Stop” or “Left on Red Arrow
After Stop.” Virginia law prohibits right and left
turns at red arrow lights.

Note: If you are traveling in another state, make sure you know
its laws for right and left turns at red and red arrow lights.

Flashing red light: At a flashing red light, come
to a complete stop and yield to oncoming
vehicles and pedestrians. You may go when the
way is clear. At a railroad crossing, you must
come to a complete stop even if you don’t see a
train.

Flashing red arrow: At a flashing red arrow, come to a
complete stop, yield the right-of-way to vehicles coming from
the other direction and pedestrians in the intersection, and
proceed in the direction of the arrow when the way is clear.

Yellow light or arrow: A yellow light or arrow are cautions
warning that the light is about to change. If you have not
entered the intersection, stop;
or, if unsafe to stop, cautiously
go through it. If you are already
in the intersection, go through it
cautiously. Do not speed up to
beat the light.

Flashing yellow light: A flashing yellow light
means slow down and proceed with caution.
Flashing yellow lights are at locations with
higher-than-normal hazardous conditions.

Flashing yellow arrow: At a flashing yellow arrow, you may
turn in the direction of the arrow, if the way is clear. Yield

the right-of-way to vehicles coming from the other direction
and pedestrians in the intersection. Be sure to check for less
visible vehicles such as motorcycles, bicycles, and mopeds. If
a traffic light changes from red to flashing yellow arrow while a
pedestrian is in the intersection, allow the pedestrian to cross
the street before turning.

Green light or arrow: At a green light, you may go if the way
is clear. At a green arrow, you may go in the direction of the
arrow if the way is clear. If you are turning, you must yield the
right-of-way to vehicles coming from the other direction and
pedestrians in the intersection. Be sure to check for less visible
vehicles such as motorcycles,
bicycles, and mopeds. If a traffic
light changes from red to green
while a pedestrian is in the street,
allow the pedestrian to cross the
street before turning.

VIRGINIA DRIVER'S MANUAL

Out of service signals: When traffic signals are not working
because of a power outage or other problem and not displaying
any lights, you are required to stop, proceeding through the
intersection as though it were an all-way stop. This does not
apply if a law enforcement officer or other authorized person is
directing traffic at the intersection, or if portable stop signs are
in use.

Lane use signals indicate lanes where you can and
cannot drive during different hours of the day.

Red X: Never drive in a lane marked with a red
X signal.

Yellow X: A yellow X signal means that you
should move out of the lane as soon as safely
possible.

Green Arrow: You are permitted to drive in a
lane marked with a green arrow signal.

Left-turn Arrow: You are
permitted to enter in a lane
marked with a one-way or
two-way arrow only to turn in
the direction of the arrow.

Traffic Signs

The color and shape of a traffic sign communicates
important information about the sign’s message. In poor
visibility conditions, such as heavy fog, you may be able to
make out only the shape of a sign. As you approach a sign
and while still distant, you may see the color long before you
can read the message or see the symbol, giving you some
advance information.

Sign Colors
Sign colors help you know what the intention of the sign is.

Red used with white conveys stop, yield, do not, and no. Stop
signs, yield signs, do not enter or wrong way signs, the circle
and slash in a no turn sign, and the restrictions in a parking sign
are examples.

Black used with white conveys regulatory information. Speed
limit, do not pass, no turns are examples where the operation is
regulated by law and the black and white sign would be found.

Yellow used with black conveys a warning. Curve ahead,

stop ahead, overhead clearances, slippery when wet, are all
examples. A specialized class of warning signs uses a strong
yellow/green color with black to advise of school zone activities
and other pedestrian activities.



Green and white, blue and white, and brown and white signs
are used to provide helpful information. The green sign is used
to provide destination types of information, while the blue sign
is used to inform regarding motorists services. The brown sign is
used to advise of historical or cultural interests that might exist
in the area.

Orange and black and pink and black signs are used to

advise and warn in construction (orange) and incident (pink)
areas. They are used with black and white signs that convey
regulations that might exist only because of the construction
effort or the incident.

sign, stop line, pedestrian crosswalk O
or curb. Wait for any vehicle or

pedestrian to clear the way. At some intersections you'll find
a sign beneath the stop sign that reads “All Way” or “4 Way.”
At these intersections all vehicles on all roads leading into the
intersection must stop. If you get to the intersection at the

same time as other vehicles, the driver on the left must yield
to the driver on the right.

Sign Shapes

Octagon (Stop): This eight-sided
shape always means stop. You must
come to a complete stop at the

Triangle (Yield): You must

slow down as you come to the
intersection. Be prepared to stop.
Let any vehicles, pedestrians or
bicyclists safely pass before you
proceed.

d

Rectangle (Regulatory or Guide):
Vertical signs generally give
instructions or tell you the law.
Horizontal signs may give directions
or information.

Diamond (Warning): These signs warn you
of special conditions or hazards ahead. Slow
down and drive with caution. Be ready to stop.

Pentagon (School Zone/School
Crossing):

This five-sided shape marks
school zones and warns you
about school crossings. Signs
may display horizontal lines
indicating the point at which a
crosswalk exists. Two signs may be used together
to show the actual location of the crosswalk.

Regulatory or guide signs inform you
of the law; you must obey their instructions.
Remember that a red circle with a slash means
NO — the symbol inside the circle tells you
what is prohibited.

Speed Limit: These signs tell you the maximum
legal speed that you may drive on the road
where the sign is posted when weather
conditions are good. During rain, snow and ice,
you may receive a ticket for driving too fast for
the conditions even if you are driving at or less
than the posted speed limit.

Do Not Enter — Wrong Way: These signs mean
you cannot drive in that direction. If you drive
past these signs you are going in the wrong
direction and could get into a head-on crash
with vehicles headed your way. Cautiously turn
around.

One Way: Traffic flows only in
the direction of the arrow.

No Left Turn: Left turns are against the law. In
Virginia, U-turns are considered as two left turns
and are illegal if this sign is posted.

No Right Turn: Right turns are illegal. Do not
make a right turn when you see this sign.

No U-Turn: U-turns are illegal. Do not make a
U-turn when you see this sign.

No Turn on Red: You may not turn on the red
light. Wait for the signal to turn green.

Do Not Pass: This sign marks the beginning of
a no passing zone. You may not pass cars ahead
of you in your lane, even if the way is clear.

SPEED
LIMIT

&

DO
NOT
PASS
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Left Turn Yield on Green: This sign is used with

LEFT TURN
a traffic signal. It tells you that the traffic turning YIELD
left at a green light does not have the right-of- ON GREEN

way and must yield to traffic coming from the .
other direction. Stop and look for oncoming

traffic, then proceed with caution.

Keep Right: A traffic island, median or barrier is
ahead. Keep to the side indicated by the arrow.

—
v

Lane Use Control: These signs are
used where turns are required or
where special turning movements
are permitted for specific lanes.
Traffic in the lane must turn in the

L\

ONLY

A

ONLY

direction of the arrow.

o LEFT |
High Occupancy Vehicle: These signs indicate LANE

lanes reserved for buses and vehicles with a HOV 2+

driver and one or more passengers as specified ONLY

on the sign. SNA» v
RESERVED

Disabled Parking: Parking spaces marked with || PARKING

these signs are reserved for people with disabled

parking permits.

N

Warning signs alert you to possible hazards ahead. Slow
down and watch for other signs or signals that may follow.

EXIT

Advisory Speed: This sign indicates the

maximum safe speed for a highway exit.

25

MPH

Reduced Speed Limit Ahead: Prepare
to reduce your speed; the speed limit is
changing ahead.

Signal Ahead: Traffic signals are ahead. Slow
down and be ready to stop.
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No Passing Zone: This sign marks the
beginning of a no passing zone. You may not
pass cars ahead of you in your lane, even if the
way is clear.

Merge: Two lanes of traffic moving in the same
direction are about to become one. Drivers in
both lanes are responsible for merging safely.

Lane Reduction: The right lane ends soon.
Drivers in the right lane must merge left when
space opens up. Drivers in the left lane should
allow other vehicles to merge smoothly.

Divided Highway Begins: The highway ahead
is split into two separate roadways by a median
or divider and each roadway is one-way. Keep
right.

Divided Highway Ends: The highway ahead no /
longer has a median or divider. Traffic goes in ~ °
both directions. Keep right.

Roundabout: These signs indicate a circular
intersection with an island in the center is
ahead. Also called rotaries or traffic circles,
these intersections may have one or more lanes.
Entering traffic must yield the right-of-way to
traffic already in the circle.

Slippery When Wet: When pavement is wet,
reduce your speed. Do not brake hard or
change direction suddenly. Increase the distance
between your car and the one ahead of you.

Low Clearance Sign: The overpass ahead has a
low clearance. Do not proceed if your vehicle is ¢
taller than the height shown on the sign.

Hill: A steep grade is ahead. Check your
brakes.

Deer Crossing: Deer cross the roadway in this
area. Slow down, be alert and be ready to stop.




Pedestrian Crossing: Watch for
people entering a crosswalk or
crossing your path. Slow down
and be prepared to stop. A
second sign with an arrow may
show the actual location of the
crosswalk.

Bicycle Crossing/Bike Path:
Bicycles regularly cross or ride
beside traffic in this area. Drive
with caution. A second sign with
an arrow may show the actual
location of the bike crossing.

School Zone/School Crossing:
Slow down. The speed limit is
usually 25 MPH. Watch out for
children crossing the street or
playing. Be ready to stop. Obey
signals from any crossing guards.
A second sign with an arrow may
show the actual location of the crosswalk.

Open Joints: Slow down. Open joints on
bridges or ramps could cause a motorcyclist
to lose control of the motorcycle.

Expansion Joints: This sign is used when a joint
across lanes creates a bump or is wide enough
to cause loss of traction in wet weather.

Crossroad: A four-way intersection is ahead.
Be ready to yield the right-of-way.

Side Road: A road joins from the right. Be alert
for vehicles entering the roadway you are
traveling on.

Y Intersection: You must bear either right or
left ahead.

T Intersection: The roadway you are traveling
on ends ahead. Signal before turning right or
left.

Right Curve — Side Road: The road ahead
curves right and a side road joins from the left
within the curve. Be alert for vehicles entering
the roadway you are traveling on.

Sharp Right Turn: Slow down and be prepared
for a sharp right turn in the road ahead.

Sharp Right and Left Turns: Slow down and
be prepared for the road ahead to turn sharply
right, then left.

Right and Left Curves: The road ahead curves
right, then left. Slow down.

Right Curve with Safe Speed Indicator: The
road ahead curves right. Slow down to the safe
speed limit indicated.

Winding Road: The road ahead winds with
a series of turns or curves. On all curves, slow
down for better control.

Low Ground Railroad Crossing: A steep slope
where the railroad tracks cross the road may
cause the bottom of low vehicles to get caught
or drag on the tracks.

Railroad Crossing: Advance warning signs are
placed before a railroad crossing. These signs
warn you to look, listen, slow down and be
prepared to stop for trains or any vehicles using
the rails.

Railroad Crossbuck: This sign is a warning of a
railroad crossing. Look, listen, slow down and
be prepared to stop for trains or any vehicles
using the rails.

Railroad Crossbuck and Track Indicator: If
there is more than one track, the sign below the
crossbuck will indicate the number of tracks at
the crossing. Slow down and be prepared to

2] N
stop- | TRACKS
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Railroad Crossbuck and Flashing Lights: Flashing lights
may be used with crossbuck signs. Always stop ?

when the light begins to flash and be alert for
approaching trains. Do not proceed until all

trains or any other vehicles using the rails have &t 21
passed, the tracks are clear, and the lights are e

no longer flashing. Be especially alert at multi- (@) || (@
track crossings because a second train could be

approaching from the opposite direction.

Crossbuck, Flashing Lights and Gate: Gates

are used with flashing light signals at some %@g
crossings. Stop when the lights begin to flash and . .
before the gate lowers. Remain stopped until the \ L)
gates are raised and the lights stop flashing. Do

not attempt to drive around the
lowered gate.

.

Pavement markings, consisting
of an X and RR, may

be painted on the
pavement at the
approach to some
crossings. When
approaching railroad
tracks, be alert. Trains
may approach the
crossing at any time and
from either direction.
Unless you can clear the
tracks completely, never
start across the tracks.
Make sure there is room for your vehicle on the other side of
the tracks before proceeding.

Note: School buses must always stop at railroad crossings,
even when the lights are not flashing.

If a dangerous condition exists at a

rail crossing, call the number listed on
the emergency sign. This will allow

the rail company to stop or reroute
approaching rail traffic until the hazard
is removed. Be sure to give the posted
crossing number so that the hazard can
be identified correctly.

P
REPORT EMERGENCY

T0 1-800-555-5555

CROSSING #221-6200

| ON WENDOVER ROAD

If your car
stalls on the
tracks, don’t
hesitate. Get
out of the car
right away and
run diagonally
away from the
tracks in the
direction of
the oncoming
train.
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In a work zone, the lives of highway construction workers
depend on drivers like you obeying the posted speed limits. If
you are convicted of exceeding the speed limit in a highway
work zone, you may be fined up to $500. Remember, the color
orange marks a work zone and means slow down and be alert.

Rough Road, Bump, or Uneven Lanes: These signs are used
when certain road conditions, such as loose gravel or road
construction, affect .

the roadway surface
and create potentially
difficult conditions for
motorists, especially
motorcyclists.

Road Construction Ahead — Detour: These
signs indicate a change in the traffic pattern
or route ahead. Slow down. Unusual or

potentially dangerous conditions are ahead.

Flashing Arrow Panels: Large flashing arrow
panels or flashing message signs in work zones
direct drivers to proceed into different traffic
lanes and inform them that part of the road
ahead is closed.

Flaggers: Flaggers are construction
workers who normally wear orange or
yellow vests, or yellow-green shirts or
jackets. They use STOP/SLOW paddles
and red flags to direct traffic through
the work zone and to let other workers
or construction vehicles cross the road.

Traffic Control Devices:

Barricades, vertical signs, concrete
barriers, drums and cones are the
most common devices used to guide
drivers safely through work zones.
When driving near the devices, keep
your vehicle in the middle of the lane
and obey the posted speed limit. As
you leave the work zone, stay in your
lane and maintain your speed. Don't
change lanes until you are completely
clear of the work zone.

P IITIITA
Message Boards: You may see portable or permanent
message boards along roadways. They provide information
about traffic, road, weather or other hazardous conditions.
Always obey any directions posted on these message boards.
For information about road conditions or road construction,

visit the Virginia Department of Transportation website at
www.virginiadot.org.



Slow Moving Vehicles traveling at 25 MPH or less,
such as farm equipment and horse-drawn

vehicles, must display these signs when using

a public highway. Be prepared to adjust your

speed or position when you see a vehicle with

one of these signs.

Pavement Markings

Road markings guide and warn drivers as well as regulate
traffic. Markings may be red, blue, yellow or white. They
may be used alone or in combinations. Each has a different
meaning.

Red markings are generally not used; but, some communities
do use red curbs to indicate no parking zones.

Red reflectors on the pavement show areas not to be entered
or used. They are positioned on the road surface so that only
traffic flowing in the wrong direction would observe them.

Blue markings show parking spaces for persons with
disabilities.

Yellow center lines mean two-way traffic, flowing in
opposite directions.

Broken yellow center lines

mean that passing on the left
is allowed in either direction
when the way ahead is clear.

A broken yellow line
alongside a solid yellow line
means that passing is allowed
from the side of the broken
line, but not from the side of
the solid line.

Vehicles on the solid yellow
line side may only cross the
line to pass pedestrians,
bicyclists, and riders of
scooters or skateboards,
when the opposite lane is
clear and you can pass safely.

Double solid yellow lines
mark the center of the road
and separate traffic traveling
in two different directions.
Passing is not allowed in
either direction. You may not §
cross the lines unless you are
making a left turn or passing
pedestrians, bicyclists,

and riders of scooters or
skateboards, when the
opposite lane is clear and
you can pass safely.

Broken white lines separate
lanes of traffic going in the
same direction. You may
change lanes with caution.

Dotted white lines are actually small rectangles in a series
where each is closely spaced to the next. They are used to
show lane assignment in intersections and interchanges where
there might otherwise be a tendency to drift out of a lane or
an area of intended use. Often they are used to guide two
turning lanes through the intersection. Dotted white lines

are also used to denote the opening of a turn lane at an
intersection and entrance/exit lanes at interchanges.

Many two-lane roads in Virginia do not have lane markings
to separate the lanes. On an unmarked two-lane road, you
may pass a slow moving vehicle on the left side if there are no
signs prohibiting passing. Make sure that the way is clear.

Solid white lines show turn lanes and discourage lane
changes near intersections, and at other locations where lane
changes might
be dangerous.
Solid white
lines also mark
the right edge
of pavement.
Arrows used
with white lines
indicate which
turn may be
made from the
lane. Stop lines,
crosswalks and
parking spaces
also are marked
by white lines.
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White lane arrows are curved or straight. If you are in a
lane marked with a curved arrow or a curved arrow and the
word ONLY, you must turn in the direction of the arrow. If
your lane is marked with both a curved and straight arrow,
you may turn or go straight.

Double solid white lines
separate lanes of traffic
going in the same direction.
Most often they are used to
designate special use lane
from conventional lanes,

as when used to separate

a High Occupancy Vehicle
lanes from the other lanes of
an expressway. You may not
cross these lines. You may
enter the designated special
use lane only where signs
and markings allow.

Yield ahead symbol is an
outline of a triangle painted
in the lane before the place
where you must yield.

Yield line is a line of
triangles extending across the
roadway that may be used
with a yield sign to show

the point at which you must
yield or stop, if necessary. A
yield line is often seen at the
entrance of a roundabout.

On three-lane roads with traffic moving in both directions,
road markings show when drivers may use the center lane for
making left turns or for passing.

If the center lane is marked by a single broken yellow line

on both sides, drivers traveling in either direction may use
the center lane for passing.
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If both sides of the center
lane are marked by a solid
yellow line and a broken
yellow line, drivers traveling
in either direction may use
the lane for making left turns.
However, they may not travel
further than 150 feet in this
lane.

High Occupancy Vehicles (HOV)
lanes are marked on highways by
a diamond shape in the center

of the lane. HOV lanes may also
be special lanes separated by a
barrier or solid double white lines.
During heavy traffic periods, HOV lanes are reserved for
buses, vanpools, carpools,
other high occupancy
vehicles, motorcycles, and
certain clean special fuel
vehicles. Road signs show
the minimum number of
passengers a vehicle must
carry (excluding motorcycles
and clean fuel vehicles) to
use the HOV lanes and the
times that HOV restrictions
are in effect. If the lanes are
separated by a barrier, they
are reversible. This means
that during certain times of
the day, traffic flows one
way. During other times of
the day, traffic flows in the
opposite direction. This
diamond-shaped marking
may also indicate that the
lane is reserved for use as a
bike lane or bus lane.

HOV
LANE
AHEAD

A painted curb means that you must follow special rules to
park there. Check with the locality for specific meanings.
Generally, the colors on the curb mean:

White — Stop only long enough to pick up or drop
off passengers.

Yellow — Stop only long enough to load or unload.
Stay with your car.

Red — Do not stop, stand or park.

Blue — Parking is reserved for persons

with disabilities.




Section 3:
Safe Driving é

you get behind the wheel, you accept
responsibility for your actions. You must obey Virginia’s traffic
laws, and ensure the safety of you, your passengers, and other

In this section you'll learn about: motorists, pedestrians and bicyclists on the roadways.

Hand position Hand Position

Speed limits

Stopping Sit straight but relaxed and place your hands on the steering
wheel. If your steering wheel were a clock, your hands
should be at the 8 o’clock and 4 o’clock positions. Hold the
Roundabouts wheel with your fingers and thumbs. Avoid gripping it with
Changing lanes your palms.

Yielding the right-of-way

Over-correcting
Turning

U-turns

Turn signals
Maintaining a space cushion
Searching

Blind spots

Sharing the road
Backing

Parking

Visibility

Lights

Hazardous conditions

Dangerous driving behaviors
Traffic crashes
Deer hazards
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Traffic stops
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Speed Limits

A speed limit is the maximum legal speed you can travel on
a road under ideal conditions. You may drive slower than the
posted speed, but it is illegal to drive any faster. By law, you
must drive slower if conditions such as road construction or
bad weather make the posted speed unsafe. It is illegal to use
a radar detector in Virginia.

Maximum speed limit for

passenger vehicles and motorcycles
(unless posted otherwise)
Speed limit

Type of highway or zone

Interstate highways in certain rural areas 70 MPH
Non-rural interstate highways, public 55 MPH
roads not part of the interstate system

Rural rustic and unpaved roads 35 MPH
School, business and residential zones 25 MPH

(You are required to travel 25 MPH in a
school zone only when indicated by a
sign or signal. Otherwise, maintain the
posted speed.)

Stopping

You must always stop your vehicle:
» atall stop signs, red traffic lights and flashing red signals

» when entering a street or crossing over a sidewalk from
a driveway, alley, building or parking lot

» atrailroad crossings with flashing signals
» when signaled by flaggers directing traffic

» for pedestrians attempting to cross the street at a
crosswalk

» atthe direction of a police officer. If you don’t obey a
law enforcement officer’s signal to stop and the officer
pursues you and is killed as a direct result of the pursuit,
you will be guilty of a Class 4 felony.

» atthe scene of a crash in which you are involved

When approaching a stop sign and the car in front of you
proceeds, stop at the sign and proceed when the way is clear.
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Stopping for School Buses

In the following pictures, the red vehicles
must stop and remain stopped until all
children are clear of the roadway and the
bus moves again.

» You must stop for stopped
school buses with flashing
red lights and an extended
stop sign when you
approach from any
direction on a highway,
private road or school
driveway. Stop and remain
stopped until all persons
are clear and the bus
moves again.

» You must also stop if the
bus is loading or unloading
passengers and the signals
are not on.

» You do not have to stop if
you are traveling in the
opposite direction on a
roadway with a median or
barrier dividing the road
and the bus is on the
opposite side of the median
or barrier. However, be
prepared for unexpected
actions by persons exiting
the school bus.

Stopping Distance

Three factors determine the distance that it takes to stop
your vehicle: perception time, reaction distance and braking
distance.

Perception time: The time it takes you to recognize a hazard.

Reaction distance: The distance your vehicle travels between
the time you recognize a problem and the time you apply the
brakes.

Braking distance: The distance your car travels after you
apply the brakes.

Perception time, reaction distance and braking distance are
affected by weather, visibility, and your mental and physical
condition. Braking distance is also affected by how fast your
vehicle is traveling, the condition of your brakes and tires,
and the pavement condition. For example, wet pavement can
double your braking distance.



Average stopping distance on dry, level pavement.

Source: Code of Virginia Section 46.2-880

Antilock Brakes

If your vehicle has antilock brakes, be sure that you
understand how they work. Check your vehicle owner’s
manual and practice braking before you go out on the
road. Remember, never pump antilock brakes.

Yielding the Right-of-Way

Yield also means to stop if you cannot merge safely into the
flow of traffic.

Examples of yielding the right-of-way:
»  When two vehicles from different directions arrive at an

intersection at different times, the vehicle that arrives
first goes first.

» When two vehicles from different directions arrive at
the same time at an intersection with no signs or signals,
the driver on the left must allow the driver on the right
to go first.

» If the traffic lights at an intersection are not working,
all vehicles coming to the intersection must stop. The
driver on the left must yield to the driver on the right.

» Drivers entering an interstate from an entrance ramp
must yield the right-of-way to traffic already on the
highway.

» Drivers entering any intersection or traffic circle must
yield to traffic already in it.

» When entering a roadway from a private road or
driveway, you must stop and yield to all traffic and
pedestrians.

» You must yield for pedestrians who are crossing a
street within a clearly marked crosswalk or at an
unmarked intersection. Remember that turns on red are
especially hazardous to pedestrians. Avoid conflict with
pedestrians and permit them to cross the street safely.

» You must yield to funeral processions. Do not cut
through, join or interfere with a funeral procession.
Unless led by a police escort, the lead vehicle in a
funeral procession must obey all traffic signs and signals.

Other drivers in the procession may follow carefully
without stopping and may use hazard lights (flashers) to
indicate they are in the procession.

» You must yield to all military convoys. Never cut
through or join a military convoy.

Yielding to Vehicles with Flashing Lights

Drivers must take specific actions when they see vehicles with
flashing or blinking blue, red, amber (yellow) or white lights
on roadways.

Stationary (Stopped) vehicles

» When approaching a stationary emergency vehicle with
flashing lights on a four lane highway, proceed with
caution and, if reasonable, with due regard for safety
and traffic conditions, change to a lane not next to the
vehicle. If you are unable to safely change lanes, reduce
your speed and proceed with caution. Violations can
result in court suspension of your driver’s license and
demerit points on your driving record.

» When passing stationary vehicles in the process of trash
collection on a highway of at least four lanes, change to
a lane not next to the vehicle, if you can change lanes
safely. If on a highway of fewer than four lanes or if you
are unable to change lanes, slow down to 10 miles per
hour below the posted speed limit and pass at least two
feet to the left of the vehicle.

» When passing a stationary mail vehicle, proceed
with caution and maintain a safe speed for highway
conditions.

» You may not park within 500 feet of where fire trucks or
equipment are stopped answering an alarm.

Approaching vehicles — same direction

» Never follow an emergency vehicle closer than 500 feet
when its lights are flashing.

» When police, fire and rescue vehicles or ambulances
approach you from behind your vehicle using a siren,
flashing lights or both, you must immediately yield the
right-of-way. Safely pull over to the right edge of the
road and stop until the emergency vehicle has passed.

Approaching vehicles - opposite direction

» When emergency vehicles approach you in the
opposite lane on an undivided highway, you must
pull over to the edge of the road and stop until the
emergency vehicle passes.

These requirements do not apply in highway work zones.

Roundabouts

Roundabouts, rotaries, circular intersections and traffic circles
are all terms for intersections with a circular -

island in the center. Roundabouts may have
one or more lanes. Entering traffic must

yield the right-of-way to traffic already in the
circle. Each road approaching the roundabout
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is marked with a yield sign and may also have yield line
markings on the pavement. However, rotaries and other
circles may have stop signs. Drivers must pay attention and
obey the signs.

When approaching a roundabout, slow down. Use your turn
signals to indicate where you want to go. If you plan to turn
right, stay to the right as you enter the roundabout. If you
plan to go straight, you may stay in either lane (if it is a dual
lane circular intersection). If you plan to turn left, stay to the
left as you enter the roundabout.

More information about driving safely through a roundabout
is available at the Virginia Department of Transportation web
site at http://www.virginiadot.org/info/fag-roundabouts.asp.

Tips for driving safely through a roundabout:

» Asyou approach the roundabout, slow down; look for
the street and direction signs. This will help you know
which exit to take. These signs should be posted along
the roadside before you reach the roundabout.

» When you arrive at the roundabout, yield the right-of-
way to pedestrians and bicyclists. You also must yield
to any vehicles already in the roundabout. Sometimes
your entry point will be controlled by a stop or yield
sign, or traffic signal. When the way is clear, you may
enter the roundabout.

» While inside the roundabout, stay in your lane until you
are ready to exit. Use your vehicle’s right turn signal to
let drivers around you know what you want to do.

» Do not change lanes or take an exit before checking
for vehicles that may be continuing through the
roundabout in the lane next to you or behind you.
Expect vehicles to be in blind spots you cannot see in
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your rearview or side mirrors. Quickly glance over your
shoulder and check for any vehicles that may be in your
blind spot.

Changing Lanes

Before changing lanes, check your side and rearview mirrors
for traffic approaching you from behind. Then, use your turn
signal to let other drivers know you plan to change lanes.
Check for other drivers who also may be moving into the
same lane. Just before you begin moving into the other lane,
quickly glance over your shoulder and check for any vehicles
that may be in your blind spot.

Whether you are changing lanes, passing, entering or exiting a
highway, always use your turn signals and check traffic to the
rear and sides. When driving on a multi-lane highway, stay in
the right lane if you are driving slower than the traffic around
you.

Passing
When passing another vehicle:

» check the traffic
ahead of you,
behind you and
in your blind spot
before you attempt |
to pass. Signal and |
then accelerate to
pass. Return to the
right lane as soon
as you can see the
front of the passed
vehicle in your
rearview mirror.

» itis against the
law to exceed the
speed limit as you
pass.

» complete the pass
before you reach a No Passing zone. If you're still in the
left lane when you reach the zone, you're breaking the
law.

» you may pass on the right if the vehicle you are passing
has signaled and is making a left turn. Be cautious
because the vehicle you are passing may be blocking
your view or blocking the view of other drivers. You
may not pass on the right if you must drive off the
pavement or main portion of the roadway to get around
the other vehicle.

» when approaching or passing a person riding a bicycle,
moped, or power-assisted bicycle or other device,
reduce speed and pass at least three feet to the left.

When being passed, don't speed up. Maintain a steady
speed or slow down.



Passing is unlawful and unsafe:

» on hills, curves, at intersections or railroad crossings,
except on roads with two or more lanes of traffic
moving in the same direction

» off the pavement or shoulder of the road

» when a school bus is stopped to load or unload
passengers on a public road (unless a physical barrier
or unpaved median separates traffic going in either
direction) or on a private road

» when a solid line marks the left side of your lane

Over-correcting

Over-correcting occurs when the driver turns the steering
wheel more sharply than expected, causing the rear wheels of
the vehicle to slide toward the outside of the turn. This may
result in the loss of vehicle control.

Most over-correction crashes are single vehicle crashes and
are often preventable. A driver should remain alert at all
times. Reduce speed and use extra caution while driving on
curved roads. If you veer off the road, curved or straight, do
not panic. Gradually reduce your speed, look in the direction
you want to go, slowly steer back onto the roadway.

Turning

To make a right turn you should be in the lane closest to

the curb. Signal your intent to turn by using the proper

turn signal. You should signal at least three or four seconds,
100 feet, ahead of the turn. Look to your left to check the
intersection for pedestrians and traffic coming from the other
direction. Then brake smoothly before and during the turn. If
there is a traffic light or a stop sign at the intersection, come
to a complete stop before you make the turn. Turn into the
lane closest to the curb unless pavement markings lead you
otherwise, and then change lanes if needed.

To make a left turn you should be in the furthest left lane
possible, turning into the leftmost lane on the intersecting
road, unless pavement markings lead you otherwise; or,
unless multiple left turn lanes are provided. If multiple left
turn lanes are provided, you should choose the lane that will
best serve your need once you enter the intersecting road.
Signal your intent to turn by using the proper turn signal. You
should signal at least three to four seconds, 100 feet, ahead of
the turn. Look in all directions, checking the intersection for
pedestrians and traffic coming from the opposite direction.
Keep your front wheels pointed straight ahead until you are
actually going to make the left turn. This prevents you from
being pushed into oncoming traffic if another vehicle crashes
into you from behind. When the way is clear, make the left
turn, yield to any vehicles (including bicycles and pedestrians)
approaching from the opposite direction.

When two vehicles are :
approaching each other and |
signaling to turn left, both
vehicles should turn in front
of each other so that the
passenger sides of the
vehicles are beside each
other.

U-Turns

U-turns are not legal everywhere. Before you
make a U-turn, check for No U-Turn or No Left
Turn signs. In business districts, cities and towns, [
U-turns are allowed only at intersections. Never
make a U-turn on a highway.

When making a U-turn, turn on your left-turn signal, stop,
and yield for approaching traffic. When the way is clear,
proceed into the outside or right hand lane traveling in the
opposite direction.

Turn Signals

When you plan to change lanes, turn, or enter or exit a
highway, first give the proper turn signal. Using your turn
signal, which is required by law, communicates your intended
movement to drivers around you. Develop a good habit and
use turn signals or hand signals even if no other traffic is on
the road.

When you plan to turn, signal three or four seconds, 100 feet,
ahead of your turn. Be aware that drivers planning to turn into
your lane may not know exactly where you will turn; drivers
may pull out in front of you. Be alert.

After you complete the turn or lane change, be sure the turn
signal stops flashing.

Right Turn
Left hand and
arm pointing

upward

Slow or Stop

Left hand and

arm pointing
downward

Left Turn
Left hand and
arm pointing

straight out
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Maintaining a Space Cushion

Space around your vehicle gives you distance to react in
emergencies and avoid a crash. Create a space cushion
around your vehicle by staying in the middle of your lane.
Make sure there is enough room ahead of your vehicle and
behind it for other vehicles to pass or stop safely.

Use the two-, three- and four-second rule to determine if
you are following far enough behind the vehicle ahead of
you.

Following Distance

At these posted speeds and on dry surfaces,
this distance, in seconds, allows the driver to steer and
brake out of a problem areas.

2 seconds Under 35 MPH
3 seconds 35-45 MPH
4 seconds 46-70 MPH

Here’s how the following distance rule works.

» Glance at the vehicle
ahead as it passes a
fixed object, such as an §
overpass, sign, fence,
corner or other fixed
mark.

» Begin counting the
seconds it takes you to
reach the same place
in the road.

» If you reach the mark
before you have
counted off two,
three, or four seconds,
depending on speed,
you're following too
closely. Slow down and §
increase your following §
distance.

» For bad weather
conditions, heavy
traffic, poor pavement
or if your vehicle is
in poor condition,
add extra secondsto @
increase your following F&
distance. &
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Drivers need to change following distance when speed or
road conditions change. Hand response time is close to a
half second. Foot response time is normally three-quarters
of a second. This does not take into account any delay in
perception time as a result of the driver being tired, on
medication, distracted, etc. Road conditions, speed, driver
alertness, and even following vehicles of different weights all
change the ability to stop.

Increase your following distance when driving:

» behind a large vehicle that blocks your vision
in bad weather or heavy traffic
when exiting an expressway

behind a motorcycle
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when being tailgated

Tailgating is when the driver behind you is following too
closely. If you find yourself in this situation, do not brake
suddenly. If possible, move over to another lane, or gently
tap your brakes to flash your brake lights and slow down. This
should encourage the tailgater to pass you or slow down.

Help the driver behind you by maintaining a safe following
distance and a steady speed. Tap your brakes to warn the
driver behind you when you plan to slow down or stop.

Searching

Searching means looking at the entire scene for anything that
might come into your path. As you search the road, avoid
staring at one thing. Keep your eyes moving and learn to read
the road and your surroundings.

Looking ahead will help you identify risks early and provide
you with more time to react. Expert drivers try to focus
their eyes 20 to 30 seconds ahead. In the city, that equals
approximately one block. Avoid staring at the middle of the
road. Scan from side to side, checking for traffic signs and
signals, cars or people that might be in the road by the time
you reach them.

Search for clues on the road. Look for exhaust smoke, brake
or back-up lights and turned wheels on vehicles. Clues like
these warn that the vehicles may pull into your path. Watch
for pedestrians, bicyclists and other slow moving vehicles that
may be in the road ahead.

When driving in rural areas, watch for hidden intersections
and driveways, curves, hills and different road conditions.
Watch for other vehicles, especially trucks, oversized and
slow-moving farm vehicles, and bicycles.



Check from left to right and then left again before

entering an intersection. Whenever you reach a place in

the road where other cars, people or animals may cross your
path, look both ways to be sure it is clear. These include
intersections, crosswalks, shopping centers, construction areas
and playgrounds. At any intersection, look to the left first,
since cars coming from the left will be closer to you. Then
look to the right and take one more quick look to the left
before you drive through.

Look behind. Use your rearview mirror to check the traffic
behind you frequently, about every 10 seconds. This will alert
you if someone is moving up too quickly or tailgating you.
Check the traffic behind you when changing lanes, backing
up, slowing down quickly or driving down a long, steep hill.

Blind Spots

Blind spots are danger areas that cannot be seen in the
mirrors on either or both sides of the vehicle.

The best way to see a car in your blind spot is by quickly
turning your head and glancing over your shoulder to ensure
the way is clear before changing lanes or passing another
vehicle.

Avoid driving in someone else’s blind spot. This can be just as
dangerous as not checking your own blind spot. Speed up or
drop back; but, don’t stay in the other driver’s blind spot.

Sharing the Road

Drivers share the road with many other users: pedestrians,
bicyclists, moped and motorcycle riders, trucks and buses,
recreational vehicles and other vehicles of all shapes and
sizes. It is your responsibility to adjust your driving to avoid
other drivers’ mistakes and assure everyone’s safety.

Pedestrians: Generally, there are three types of pedestrians
most often involved in crashes: children, the elderly and
adults under the influence of alcohol or other drugs.

» Be careful around schools, playgrounds and in
residential areas where small children may be playing
or crossing the street.

» Look out for the elderly, who may have poor vision and
hearing. Remember that the elderly and people with
disabilities will move slowly.

» Be especially aware of pedestrians when making a
right or left turn. They have the right-of-way. Allow
pedestrians to completely cross the street before
beginning your turn.

» Be alert for pedestrians at all times. Slow down and be
prepared to stop.

Bicycles: Bicycles are considered vehicles and
have the same right-of-way as motor vehicles.
Bicyclists are also expected to obey the same traffic
rules and regulations as vehicle drivers; however,

9

many are children who may not know or obey the SHARE
rules. Slow down when you approach bicyclists. THE
State law requires motorists to pass cyclists with at ROAD

least three feet of clearance. Give them plenty of
room when passing and be prepared to stop suddenly. Look for
bicycles on all public roads.

It is against the law to operate a bicycle or any electric power
device such as assistive mobility devices, toy vehicles, and
bicycles on any interstate highway.

Mopeds: It is against the law to operate a moped faster than
35 MPH or on an interstate highway. Any person who operates
a moped faster than 35 MPH is considered to be operating a
motorcycle which must meet Virginia registration requirements.
In addition, the operator would be required to hold a valid
driver’s license with a motorcycle classification or a driver’s
license restricted to operating motorcycles only.

Moped riders must be at least age 16 and obey all rules of the
road. They must carry some form of government-issued photo
identification (does not have to be a driver’s license) that includes
name, address and date of birth. As a driver, treat moped riders
with the same care given to any other vehicle driver.

Riders and passengers must wear helmets, and use eye protection
if the moped does not have a windshield. The moped must be
titled and registered with DMV.

Although you do not need a driver’s license to operate a moped,
you may not operate a moped if you have been declared a
habitual offender and your license is suspended or revoked for
driving while intoxicated.

Motorcycles: Approximately half of all fatal motorcycle crashes
involve automobiles. Many crashes are caused by the motorist’s
failure to see a motorcycle in traffic.

» Look for motorcyclists. In more than half of all crashes
involving motorcycles and automobiles, the other driver
didn’t see the motorcycle until it was too late. Drivers are
conditioned to look for four-wheeled vehicles; but they
don’t expect to see two-wheeled vehicles. A motorcycle’s
small size also makes it difficult to see.

» Check your blind spots. A motorcycle’s small size allows
it to slip into your blind spot easily. Always check for
motorcycles before you pull out, change lanes, turn, back
up or proceed through an intersection.

» Never tailgate a motorcycle (or any other vehicle). Allow
yourself plenty of braking distance by adding an extra
second to the following distance rule. In inclement
weather, double this distance.

» Anticipate the motorcyclist’'s movements. Although a
motorcycle is not as wide as the lane, the rider will use the
entire lane as traffic situations and road conditions change.
A slight change or debris on the road surface can be a
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major obstacle for a motorcyclist. Expect the motorcycle
to make sudden moves within the lane. Never drive
beside a motorcycle in the same lane.

» Yield to motorcycles. The small size of a motorcycle
can cause you to misjudge the motorcycle’s speed and
distance. Before pulling out into traffic, check twice for
motorcycles and use extra caution before you pull out
in front of one.

Light Rail: There is a light rail train system in Norfolk called
The Tide. Light rail trains share the road with motor vehicles
and bicyclists, and they intersect with motor vehicle traffic at
27 locations along the 7.4 mile route. Stay safe when driving
around The Tide by obeying the tips below.

» Pay attention to changing traffic patterns and always
follow the roadway.

Never drive around lowered crossing gates.

Always look both ways before turning across train tracks.
Expect trains on any track at any time.

Always obey signs and traffic signals.

Never stop, pass or shift on train tracks.
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Don't cross train tracks unless you have enough room to
cross without stopping and can clear the tracks to a safe
distance.

For more info about light rail safety, visit www.gohrt.com or call
(757) 222-6100.

Low Speed Vehicles: These electrically powered four-wheel
vehicles have a maximum speed ranging from 21 to 25 MPH.
Low speed vehicles may be operated on public roads with
speed limits of 35 MPH or less by licensed drivers or learner’s
permit holders accompanied by a licensed driver. Low speed
vehicles must comply with all federal safety standards and must
meet Virginia's requirements for passenger vehicle registration
and insurance coverage. Golf carts are not classified as low
speed vehicles.

Trucks, Tractor-Trailers, Buses and RVs: Trucks, tractor-
trailers, buses and recreational vehicles (RVs) — including
motor homes, campers and travel trailers — are longer, higher
and wider than other vehicles. They accelerate slowly and
require greater stopping and turning distances. Plus, there are
danger areas around these vehicles where crashes are more
likely to occur. These areas are called No-Zones. No-Zones on
the side, front and rear also include blind spots where your car
disappears from the driver’s view. Learning the No-Zones can
save your life.

» Side No-Zones: Trucks, tractor-trailers, buses and RVs
have big No-Zones on both sides that are dangerous
because these vehicles must make wide turns. These
No-Zones or blind spots are much larger than your car’s
blind spots. If you can't see the driver’s face in his side
view mirror, then he can’t see you.

» Rear No-Zone: Trucks, tractor-trailers, buses and RVs
have huge No-Zones directly behind them. The driver
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can't see your
car behind his
vehicle and you
can’t see what's
happening in
traffic ahead of
his vehicle. If
the truck, bus
or RV brakes or
stops suddenly,
you have no
place to go and
could crash into
the vehicle’s
rear-end. Always
maintain a

safe following
distance.

» Front No-Zone:
You could get rear-ended by a truck, bus or RV if you cut
in front too soon after passing the vehicle or if you cut
in front and then suddenly slow down. The truck, bus
and RV drivers would be forced to slam on their brakes.
These vehicles need nearly twice the time and room to
stop as cars. A truck and its trailer may be as long as 65
feet and it may take you more than half a mile of clear
road to pass. When passing, look for the entire front of
the truck in your rearview mirror before pulling in front.
And then, maintain your speed.

» Wide Turns: Trucks, buses and RVs sometimes need to
swing wide to the left or right to safely make a turn. They
can't see the cars directly behind or beside them. In fact,
their blind spots may stretch up to 20 feet in front of
the cab and approximately 200 feet behind the vehicle.
Never try to squeeze between a truck, bus or RV and the
curb or another vehicle.

Light to Medium Trailers: These trailers are attached to mid-
sized cars and trucks with safety chains and a trailer hitch. Large
side mirrors are generally needed to increase visibility. Towing a
trailer places additional stress on the vehicle; it takes the vehicle
twice as long to pass, stop, accelerate and turn. Remember the
No-Zones described under Trucks, Tractor-Trailers and RVs.

Before driving a vehicle with a light to medium trailer
attached, perform a safety inspection before each trip. Ensure:

» the pin securing the ball mount to the receiver is intact

the hitch coupler is secured

» safety chains are properly attached
» the electrical plug is properly installed
» brake lights, turn signals, and license plate lights are

functioning properly.

Before pulling a trailer on public roads, find a location such as
a vacant parking lot to practice and get the feel for how your
vehicle and trailer will handle.



When driving a vehicle with a light to medium trailer
attached:

» always allow for the added length of the trailer when
you change lanes

» if your trailer starts to sway, steer toward your target

» when backing up, place your hand on the bottom of
the steering wheel. If you cannot see where you are
backing up, have someone outside to help guide you.
To back the trailer to the left, use your left hand to
move the wheel left. To back the trailer to the right, use
your right hand to move the wheel to the right.

Backing

The most common mistake that drivers make when backing
up is failing to look both ways behind them. Mirrors do not
give you a full view. To see as much as possible, turn your
body and head to the right and look out through the rear
window. Back up slowly and check for pedestrians and
approaching traffic by glancing quickly to either side.

Parking

When parking on a public road, move as far from traffic as
possible. If you park on a shoulder, pull over as far on the
shoulder as possible. If you park next to a curb, pull close to
it. You may not park more than one foot from the curb. On a
two-way street, park on the right side of the road. On a one-
way road, park on either side.

Parking on a hill

- with curb i
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You may not park:
» beside another parked vehicle (double parking)

on crosswalks or sidewalks

» in front of driveways

» within areas where parking is prohibited by curbs
painted yellow or No Parking signs

» in a parking space reserved for disabled persons

» on the hard surface of a road when no curb is present

» within 15 feet of a fire hydrant

» within 20 feet of an intersection

» within 15 feet of the entrance to a fire, ambulance or

rescue squad station

» within 500 feet of where fire trucks or equipment are
stopped answering an alarm

» within 50 feet of a railroad crossing

» insuch a way that you block or create a hazard for
other vehicles in a designated traffic lane

Visibility

Most of what you do while driving depends on what you

see. To be a good driver, you need to know what to look for,
where to look, and how to adjust to possible problems. The
single biggest contributor to crashes is failing to identify a risk.
You must look down the road, to the sides, and behind your
vehicle. You must also be alert for unexpected events. You
must use your headlights at night and at other times when it's
hard to see. You must be alert and pay attention to what is
going on around you.

Lights

Virginia law requires motorists to use headlights during
inclement weather such as rain, fog, snow or sleet when
visibility is reduced to 500 feet. You must use your headlights
whenever you use your windshield wipers as a result of bad
weather.

Hazardous Conditions

Driving becomes hazardous when visibility is reduced or
when the road surface is covered with rain, snow or ice.
Reducing your speed should be your first response to
decreased visibility and dangerous road conditions. Increase
your space cushion by doubling your normal following
distance (refer to the Maintaining a Space Cushion section for
more information). Turn on your headlights.

Night Driving
At sunset, as soon as light begins to fade, turn on your

headlights to make your vehicle more visible to others. You
must use headlights from sunset to sunrise.
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Use low-beams when driving in cities and towns, except
on streets where there is no lighting. Switch to low-beams
whenever you meet oncoming traffic to avoid blinding the
other driver. When following, use low-beams whenever you
are within 200 feet of the vehicle ahead.

Use high-beam headlights on highways, unless another
vehicle is within 500 feet coming toward you. If the high-
beams of an oncoming car are on, avoid looking directly at
the bright lights. Glance toward the side of the road, then
look quickly ahead to determine the other vehicle’s position.
Keep doing this until you have passed the other vehicle. Even
if the other driver does not dim his headlights, do not turn on
your high-beam headlights.

Fog

Fog reflects light and can reflect your own headlights back into
your eyes. Use low-beam headlights in heavy fog and look

for road edge markings to guide you. Even light fog reduces
visibility and your ability to judge distances, so slow down.

Rain

Driving in heavy rain can be as hazardous as driving in fog,
especially if the wind is blowing. Other vehicles to the rear
and in blind spot areas are especially difficult to see when it's
raining.

Use your low-beam headlights to see and be seen. In light
rain or drizzle, turn on your windshield wipers to improve
visibility; using wipers for sprinkles may smear the windshield
and make it harder to see, so make sure you have windshield
washer fluid.

When rain begins, during the first half-hour, roads are more
likely to be slippery due to oil on the road surface mixing with
water.

Snow

Remove snow and ice from your entire car, including the roof,
hood and rear of the vehicle, before you start driving. Snow
and ice left on the car can fly off when the vehicle is moving
and create a hazard for other motorists. Be sure to clear all of
your windows, mirrors and front and rear lights of snow or ice
so you can see and communicate with other drivers.

Equip your car with all-weather snow tires or chains to help
prevent skidding and reduce stopping distance.

Driving on packed snow is similar to driving on ice. When you
brake, apply the brakes gently. Slow down before stopping or
turning.

When driving on slippery surfaces and you need to stop,
apply brakes gently. You have the most traction and control
when the front tires are rolling. Therefore, your vehicle will
respond more effectively to steering while moving more
slowly than hard braking.
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Watch for ice on bridges and in shady areas. Bridges freeze
before other road surfaces.

Dangerous Driving Behaviors

Aggressive Driving

This dangerous driving behavior is defined by Virginia law
as the intent to harass, intimidate, injure or obstruct another
person while committing one or more traffic offenses such
as failing to stop or yield the right-of-way, avoiding a traffic
control device or failing to give way to an overtaking vehicle.

When aggressive drivers are behind the wheel, these
high-risk drivers take out their anger on other motorists.
Their frustration levels run high while their concerns for fellow
motorists run low. They break the law by running stop signs
and red lights, speeding, tailgating, weaving in and out of
traffic, passing on the right (including on the shoulder and
unpaved portions of the road), making improper and unsafe
lane changes, as well as making hand and facial gestures,
screaming, honking and flashing their lights.

Protect yourself. If you see an aggressive driver, stay out of
the way. Don't challenge the aggressive driver by speeding up
or trying to out-maneuver him. Avoid eye contact and ignore
his gestures and shouting.

Remember, if you are convicted of aggressive driving, your
license could be suspended for ten days or for as long as six
months.

Distracted Driving

Driving requires your full attention. There are many
distractions that may prevent drivers from focusing on driving:
changing the radio or CD, talking to passengers, observing
outside surroundings, eating, using a cell phone and more.
When on the road, drivers should not use cell phones,
computers or other distracting devices except to report a
crash or emergency. Before engaging in distracting behavior,
pull over and stop the vehicle in a safe location.

Virginia law prohibits drivers under age 18 from using cell
phones or any other wireless communication device while
driving except in a driver emergency and the vehicle is
lawfully parked or stopped. Text messaging or reading of
text messages while driving is illegal for all drivers.

Annually, driver distraction accounts for roughly 20 percent
of all traffic crashes in Virginia. Why is distracted driving so
deadly? Because while the driver is distracted, the vehicle
may move into a high risk situation. The driver then loses
precious seconds before recognizing the situation and must
make an emergency maneuver. Young distracted drivers are
even more susceptible. Failure to maintain proper control,
following too closely, and not yielding the right-of-way are
common actions of young distracted drivers. Inexperience
in handling or controlling a vehicle during an emergency



situation combined with distracted driving (cell phone use,
other passengers, eyes not on the road, etc.) puts them at
greater risk of a crash.

Don't let this happen to you. Take the following precautions.

» Concentrate. Keep your eyes on the road and your
hands on the wheel at all times. Also, keep your body
alert; sit straight, but relaxed. Look in the direction that
you want to go.

» Set or adjust the controls on the vehicle and other
devices as soon as you get in the car and before you
begin driving.

» Do not use a cell phone.

» Anticipate the traffic and environment around you by
searching ahead and checking your rearview mirrors
often.

» Maintain a space cushion around your vehicle. Make
sure there is enough room ahead of your vehicle and
behind it.

Drowsy Driving

Constant yawning, head nodding, heavy eyelids, blurred
vision and weaving while driving are some of the warning
signs that you may be on the verge of falling asleep at the
wheel. Driving while you are sleepy reduces your ability
to drive effectively. Your reaction time is slower, awareness
is decreased, and judgment is impaired. Often the actions
of tired drivers are confused with drivers who had been
drinking. The consequences can be just as fatal.

To avoid falling asleep at the wheel:
» Get plenty of quality sleep before a trip.
» Avoid alcoholic beverages and heavy foods.

» Beware of medications that can impair your driving
ability.

» Limit long distance driving. Stop at least every two
hours for rest.

» Stop at a safe place and take a nap. Wait at least 10
minutes after waking up to see how alert you are. If you
don't feel any more alert, don’t drive. Find a place to
sleep for an hour or for the night.

» If possible, drive with a companion and switch drivers
when necessary. Talk with passengers but not to the
point of distraction.

» Keep the temperature cool in your vehicle. Keep your
eyes moving and check your mirrors often.

» Avoid caffeine drinks. They provide a short-term boost;
however, if you are seriously sleep deprived, no amount
of caffeine will help. It’s best to stay off the road.

» If possible, avoid driving when drowsiness is most likely,
from 10 PM to 6 AM.

Drinking and Driving

Legally, drivers age 21 or older are considered to be driving
under the influence (DUI) if your blood alcohol content
(BAC) is .08 percent or higher. If your driving is impaired, you
can be convicted of driving under the influence with a BAC
lower than .08 percent. If under age 21, you can be convicted
of illegal consumption of alcohol if your BAC is at least .02
but less than .08. If your BAC is .08 or higher you could be
convicted of a DUL. If your driving is impaired because you
are under the influence of any drug, you may face the same
penalties as driving under the influence of alcohol.

Researchers estimate that between the hours of 10 PM and
2 AM three out of every ten drivers are drunk. More than
one-third of these drivers have been drinking at someone
else’s home. Nearly 50 percent of the drivers arrested for
DUI are social to moderate drinkers. Don't think that it won't
happen to you. In your lifetime, there’s a 50-50 chance that
you'll be involved in an alcohol-related crash.

Just one alcoholic drink can affect your driving ability
because even a small amount of alcohol affects the brain’s
functions — particularly vision, judgment, and coordination.

Because alcohol affects your judgment and driving ability,
your chances of being in a crash are seven times greater if you
drive after drinking than if you drive sober.

Twelve ounces of beer is the same as a shot of liquor or a
five-ounce glass of wine.

Only time can decrease intoxication. Coffee, cold showers or
exercise will not sober you up.

Alcohol-related crashes are not accidents. They can be
prevented! The only way to avoid the risks of drinking and
driving is to decide before you start drinking that you are not
going to drive. Remember, alcohol affects judgment. Making
the decision not to drive is a lot more difficult after one or
two drinks.

Drive to social events in groups of two or more and have
the driver agree not to drink.

Combining alcohol with other drugs usually multiplies the
effects of both and can have a disastrous effect on your
ability to drive. One drink taken when you are on another
drug — even an aspirin, or allergy or cold medicine — could
have the same effect on your driving ability as drinking several
alcoholic beverages.

Almost any drug can reduce your ability to drive safely. It's not
just illegal drugs that cause problems. Many over-the-counter
medications and prescription drugs for headaches, hay fever,
colds, allergies or nervous conditions can cause drowsiness
and dizziness. This includes syrups, drops, sprays, pills and
tablets. They often affect driver alertness and slow reaction
time.
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Read the label before taking any drug or medicine. Look for
warnings about side effects. If you’re uncertain about the
effects of a drug, ask your pharmacist or doctor for advice.
Remember that, while the effects may vary among users, no
drug is harmless.

Traffic Crashes

If you are involved in a traffic crash, you must:

» stop at the scene of the crash or as close to the scene
as possible without blocking traffic. You may move the
vehicles before the police arrive if the vehicles create a
traffic hazard.

» give any help you can if someone is injured. Do not
attempt to move an injured person from a wrecked
vehicle unless you have the necessary medical training
or there is an immediate danger such as fire.

» report the crash to the police as quickly as possible.
Motor vehicle crashes involving property damage,
personal injury or death must be reported to the police.

» exchange information with other people involved
in the crash as soon as possible. Be sure to get the
following information:

» name, address and driver’s license number of
other drivers

license plate numbers of other vehicles
name and address of anyone who was injured

name and address of each witness
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name, address and insurance policy number of
other vehicle owners

» notify your insurance company immediately.

Law enforcement officers are required to forward a written
crash report to DMV when a traffic crash results in injury or
the death of any person or total property damage is in excess
of $1,500. All crash information will be recorded on the DMV
records of each driver involved in the crash.

You must make a reasonable effort to find the owner of an
unattended vehicle or other property damaged in a crash.

If you cannot locate anyone, leave a note that can be found
easily at the scene of the crash. Include your name, telephone
number, the date and time of the crash, and a description

of the damage. You must also report the crash to the police
within 24 hours.
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Deer Hazards

Thousands of deer-vehicle crashes take place in Virginia each
year, resulting in fatalities, injuries and costly vehicle damage.
To avoid hitting a deer:

» Be alert at dusk and dawn especially in the fall.

» Slow down if you see a deer near or crossing the road.
Deer frequently travel in groups; there are likely more
deer nearby.

» Use the horn to scare deer away.

» If a collision with a deer or other animal is unavoidable,
do not swerve. Brake firmly, stay in your lane, and come
to a controlled stop.

If you hit a deer, report it to law enforcement.

Traffic Stops

If you are stopped by a police officer:
» Remain calm.

» Pull off to the right side of the roadway. Position your
vehicle as far away from traffic as possible.

» Turn on your flashers.

» Turn off your engine, radio and any other device that
could block communication with the officer.

» Roll down your window so that you can communicate
with the officer.

» Keep your safety belt fastened and ask your passengers
to keep their belts fastened.

» Stay in your vehicle. Do not get out unless the officer
asks you to.

» Keep your hands in plain view, preferrably on the
steering wheel. Ask your passengers to keep their hands
in plain view also.

» Do not make any movement that will make the officer
think you are hiding or reaching for something.

» Carry proper identification: a valid driver’s license, proof
of vehicle registration and proof of insurance. If the
officer asks for these documents, tell him where they
are and reach for them slowly, keeping one hand on the
steering wheel.

» If the officer is driving an unmarked car or is not in
uniform, ask to see his or her identification.

» Answer the officer’s questions fully and clearly. If you
don't understand something, politely ask the officer
questions to clarify.

» If the officer issues you a citation, do not argue with the
officer about the citation. You will have your chance to
make your case when you go to court.

» You will be asked to sign the citation. This is not an
admission of guilt. Refusal to sign the citation may result
in your arrest. Or, you may be required to go to the
police station.
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also called safety belts,
can double your chances of surviving a crash and more than
double your chances of avoiding serious injury.

Seat Belts
In this section you'll learn about: Under Virginia law, the driver and all front seat passengers
» Seat belts must wear safety belts. A driver transporting anyone younger

than age 18 must ensure that the passenger is properly
) secured in a safety belt, booster seat or child safety seat no
» Child safety seats matter where the child is seated in the vehicle.

» Air bags

Remember to wear your lap belt low on your lap and against
your thighs. Wear your shoulder belt over your shoulder and
across your chest. Never wear your shoulder belt behind your
back or under your arm. Your shoulder and lap belts should
be snug. Pregnant women are much safer if buckled up by
wearing the belt as low on the pelvis as possible.

Exception: A waiver of the seat belt requirement may be
granted by a licensed physician if the use of a safety belt is
not reasonable due to the driver’s or passenger’s physical or
medical condition. The person granted the waiver must carry
the physician’s signed written statement identifying the person
with the waiver and the reason for the waiver.

Air Bags

Air bags, when used properly with safety belts, cushion drivers
and passengers as they move forward in a front-end crash.

By providing a cushion, the air bag keeps the head, neck and
chest from hitting the steering column or dashboard, and
reduces the force of impact.
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If your vehicle is equipped with air bags:

» Always buckle up and have all passengers in the vehicle
buckle up.

» Move your seat back so that you are at least ten inches
from the steering wheel.

» If your steering wheel is adjustable, tilt it downward.
This points the air bag toward your chest instead of your
head and neck.

» Children ages 12 and under are safer buckled up in the
back seat.

For more information about air bags, including applying for
an on/off switch, contact the National Highway Traffic Safety
Administration (NHTSA) at www.nhtsa.dot.gov or toll-free
hotline at 1-800-424-9393.

Child Safety Seats

Securing a child in a correctly installed child safety seat can
significantly reduce the possibility of death or injury.

All children under age eight must be properly secured in

a child safety seat or booster seat when riding in vehicles
manufactured after January 1, 1968. If the vehicle does not
have a back seat, a rear facing child seat may be placed in the
front passenger seat only if the vehicle is not equipped with

a passenger side airbag or the passenger air bag is turned off.
A waiver of this law may be granted by a licensed physician if
the use of a child restraint would be unreasonable due to the
child’s weight, physical fitness or other medical reasons. The
person responsible for transporting this child must carry the
signed written statement by the physician identifying the child
and stating the grounds for the waiver.

The driver is responsible for making sure that children
are properly secured. If you are convicted of violating the
child restraint law, you will be fined $50.00. A second or
subsequent offense could mean a $500 penalty.
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When traveling with children:

4

Children from birth to age 12 months ride facing the
rear.

Children ages one through seven ride facing forward in
a child safety seat or booster seat.

The safest place to install a child safety seat is in the
center of the back seat. Never place a rear-facing infant
seat in the front seat of a vehicle with a passenger-side
air bag turned on.

Numerous child safety seat checks are held in localities
across Virginia. Attend one of these checks to make sure
that your child’s safety seat is installed correctly.

Never hold a child in your lap. In a crash, the child may
be crushed between your body and the dashboard.

Make sure that all car doors are securely closed and
locked before driving. If your car is equipped with a
child safety lock, turn it on. Don’t allow children to play
with door handles or locks. If you must open a door,
pull the vehicle off the road and come to a complete
stop.

Never allow children to ride in the luggage area of
hatchbacks, station wagons or vans.

Never leave a hatchback open when a child is riding in
the back seat.

It is illegal to transport children under age 16 in the bed
of a pickup truck, even if equipped with a camper shell.



In this section you'll learn about:
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License suspension

License revocation

Conviction-related suspensions and
revocations

Other DMV requirements, suspensions
and revocations
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4
4
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Driver Improvement Program
Medical review program
Insurance monitoring program

Suspension for failing to satisfy child
support-related requirements

Alcohol and the law

4
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4

Administrative License Suspension
Open alcohol containers in vehicles

Transporting children while under the
influence of alcohol/drugs

Vehicle impoundment
Restitution

Alcohol related violations and
penalties involving persons under
age 21

Section 5:
Penalties

or
repeatedly violate the laws of Virginia, your driving privilege
may be suspended or revoked by the court and/or DMV.

If your license is suspended, your privilege to drive has

been withdrawn temporarily. You may pay the required

fees and reinstate your license at the end of the suspension
period. Also, you will be required to show proof of legal
presence, which means you are either a U.S. citizen or legally
authorized by the federal government to be in the U.S. During
the suspension period, if your license has been expired for
one year or more, you must show proof of legal presence and
pass the two-part knowledge, road skills and vision exams to
have your driving privilege reinstated.

Revocation means that your privilege to drive has been
terminated. Your driving privilege may be restored if you
re-apply for a driver’s license and show proof of legal
presence after the revocation period has passed. You must
successfully complete the vision screening, two-part
knowledge exam and road skills tests and pay the required
fees when you re-apply.

Conviction-Related Suspensions and
Revocations

The court or DMV will suspend or revoke your privilege to
drive if you are convicted of any of the following offenses:

» operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of
alcohol or drugs (DUI)

» injuring another person as a result of operating a motor
vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs

» operating a motor vehicle while suspended or revoked
for a DUI
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» operating a motor vehicle that is not equipped with the
ignition interlock device when it is required by the court
or DMV

» making a false statement to DMV

» failing to stop and identify yourself at the scene of a
crash if someone has been injured or killed

» voluntary or involuntary manslaughter resulting from
driving a motor vehicle

» involuntary manslaughter resulting from operating a
motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol

» committing a drug offense, regardless of whether or not
a motor vehicle is involved

» committing a felony involving the use of a motor vehicle

» taking a driver’s license exam for another person, or
appearing for another person to renew a license

» eluding police

The court may suspend or revoke your driving privilege if you
are convicted of the following offenses:

» reckless or aggressive driving

» operating a motor vehicle without a valid driver’s
license

» driving while your license is revoked or suspended for a
non-DUI related conviction

» refusing to take a blood/breath test when charged with
driving while under the influence of alcohol/drugs

» failing to pay for gas

If you are convicted of any traffic or criminal convictions
and you fail to pay your court fines and costs within 30 days,
the court will suspend your driving privilege. The court may
offer you the option to enter into an installment payment
agreement if you are unable to pay the total amount.

Refer to the DMV website under Reinstating Driving Privileges
and Restricted Driving Privileges for information on other
reasons for suspensions/revocations, requirements to reinstate
your driving privilege, and eligibility for restricted driving
privileges.

Other DMV Requirements,
Suspensions and Revocations

Driver Improvement Program

If you are a Virginia resident, DMV is responsible for
maintaining a driving record of all convictions received from
the court. When convictions are added to your record, DMV
assigns demerit points to traffic offenses and moving
violations. DMV also monitors your driving record to see how
many demerit points you receive within a 12-month and
24-month period. Convictions may be assigned three, four or
six demerit points. For more information, refer to the
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Moving Violations and Points Assessment (DMV 115)
publication available at www.dmvNOW.com or DMV
customer service centers.

Under Age 18: If you are convicted of a demerit point
traffic violation (or safety belt/child restraint violation)
committed when you were under age 18, DMV will require
that you complete a driver improvement clinic. If you do
not complete the clinic within 90 days, DMV will suspend
your driving privilege until you complete the clinic and pay a
reinstatement fee.

After your second conviction for a demerit point traffic
violation (or safety belt/child restraint violation) committed
when you were under age 18, DMV will suspend your driving
privilege for 90 days. Your third conviction will result in a
revocation of your driving privilege for one year or until you
reach age 18, whichever is longer.

Age 18 or 19: DMV will require you to complete a driver
improvement clinic if you are convicted of a demerit point or
safety belt/child restraint violation committed while you were
age 18 or 19.

Age 18 or Older: DMV will require you to complete a driver
improvement clinic if you accumulate 12 demerit points
within 12 months or 18 points within 24 months. If you do
not complete the clinic within 90 days, DMV will suspend
your driving privilege.

If you receive 18 demerit points within 12 months or 24
points within 24 months, DMV will suspend your driving
privilege for 90 days and require that you complete a driver
improvement clinic.

For more detailed information on the Driver Improvement
Program for juveniles and adults and the actions taken by

DMV, refer to www.dmvNOW.com or A Different Kind of

Crash Course (DMV 114) brochure.

Medical Review Program

DMV is responsible for making sure that drivers are able to
safely operate motor vehicles. When DMV receives a report
that a driver may have a physical or mental condition that
affects his ability to drive safely, a medical review of the driver
may be conducted. DMV is concerned about any condition
that impairs the driver’s:

» level of consciousness
» perception (vision)

» judgment

» motor skills

Depending upon the situation, DMV may require you

to submit a medical or vision report completed by your
physician and/or to pass the two-part knowledge exam and/or
road skills test.



Once the medical review is completed, DMV will decide
whether to:

» suspend your driving privilege
» restrict your driving privilege

» require you to submit periodic medical and/or vision
reports, or

» end the medical review with no other requirements

If DMV suspends your driving privilege as a result of medical
review action, you will not be required to present legal
presence proof documents to reinstate your driving privilege
unless required to do so for another suspension/revocation or
your license expires.

Refer to the DMV publication, Medical Fitness for Safe
Driving (MED 80), for more detailed information on the
Medical Review Program.

Insurance Monitoring Program

DMV is responsible for making sure that all owners of vehicles
with a valid registration comply with the Virginia laws on
insurance requirements. When registering a motor vehicle,
you must sign a statement on the registration application that
you have liability insurance coverage for your motor vehicle,
or pay the $500 uninsured motor vehicle fee. DMV will
suspend your driving privilege if:
» you do not submit the requested insurance policy
information to verify that you have liability insurance
coverage

» thereis a break in your insurance policy coverage and
you do not return your license plates to DMV

Refer to www.dmvNOW.com for more detailed information
on Insurance Monitoring activities by DMV.

Suspensions for Failing to Satisfy Child
Support-Related Requirements
The Division of Child Support Enforcement will direct DMV
to suspend your driving privilege if you:
» are late making child support payments by 90 days or
$5,000, or

» fail to appear in court or comply with a subpoena,
summons or warrant related to paternity or child
support hearings

Refer to the DMV website under Reinstatement for
information on eligibility for restricted driving privileges and
requirements to reinstate your driving privilege.

Alcohol and the Law

If you are arrested for drinking and driving, the penalties are
severe. If the police have probable cause to stop you and
suspect that you have been drinking or using drugs, they will
ask you to take a breath or blood test. Under implied consent
laws, if you operate a motor vehicle on Virginia’s public roads,
you agree to take a test upon request. If you are involved

in a motor vehicle crash and a law enforcement officer has
probable cause, you can be arrested for DUI within three
hours of the crash without a warrant and at any location.

Administrative License Suspension

If you refuse a breath test or your BAC is .08 or higher while
you are driving and law enforcement charges you with driving
while under the influence of alcohol/drugs, your driving
privilege will be automatically suspended:

» for seven days, for a first offense

» for 60 days or until you go to trial, whichever comes
first, for a second offense

» until the trial, for a third DUI offense

If you are convicted of DUI, the court and DMV will impose
a suspension/revocation and other penalties in addition to
the administrative license suspension. If you receive multiple
DUI convictions, the suspension/revocation periods will run
consecutively.

Open Alcohol Containers in Vehicles

You may be charged with drinking while operating a motor
vehicle if you:

» are stopped by law enforcement and you have an open
container of alcohol in the passenger area and the
contents have been partially removed, and

» show signs that you have been drinking

The passenger area means the area that seats the driver and
passengers and any area within the driver’s reach, including
an unlocked glove compartment.

Transporting Children While Under the
Influence of Alcohol/Drugs

Conviction of any DUI offense involving a juvenile passenger
(age 17 or younger) in the vehicle at the time of the offense
carries an additional mandatory five-day jail term plus all
other fines and jail sentences. You may also be charged

an additional fine of at least $500 and up to $1,000. A
second DUI offense with a juvenile in the vehicle carries an
additional 80-hour community service requirement plus all
other fines and jail sentences.
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Vehicle Impoundment

Your vehicle will be impounded immediately for 30 days if
you are caught driving after your license has been suspended
for an alcohol-related offense. The court can impound the
vehicle for an additional 90 days if you are convicted.

Also, your vehicle will be impounded by law enforcement if
you operate a motor vehicle without a license after you have
previously been convicted of driving without a license. The
vehicle will remain impounded until you obtain a license or
for three days, whichever is less.

Restitution

Depending on the laws of the city or county in which you
are driving, you may be responsible for paying the cost (up
to $1,000) for law enforcement, emergency medical services,
fire fighters and rescue personnel who respond to a crash or
incident resulting from your DUI violation.

Alcohol Related Violations and Penalties
Involving Persons Under Age 21

Purchasing/Consuming Alcohol: If you are under age 21,
you cannot purchase, possess or consume alcohol. If you are
convicted of driving after illegally consuming alcohol, and
your BAC was at least .02 percent and less than .08, the court
penalty will include:

» asuspension of your driving privilege for one year from
the date of conviction, and

» a minimum mandatory fine of $500, or

» the requirement that you complete at least 50 hours of
community service.

If you are convicted of driving after illegally consuming
alcohol and your BAC was .08 or higher, you may face the
same penalties as an adult.

Providing Alcoholic Beverages: If you provide or sell
alcoholic beverages to a person under age 21 or someone
who is intoxicated or ordered by a court to refrain from
drinking alcohol, you are subject to a fine up to $2,500,
mandatory suspension of your driver’s license for up to one
year, and 12 months in jail.

Misrepresentation of Age: If you are under age 21 and you
use or attempt to use a fake ID to establish a false age in an
attempt to drink or purchase alcohol, you will:

» be fined at least $500

» be required to perform at least 50 hours of community
service

» face up to 12 months in jail, and

» face mandatory suspension of your driver’s license for at
least six months but not more than one year
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Section 6:
License Types

you must carry a
valid driver’s license or learner’s permit with you. Any misuse
of your driver’s license or learner’s permit is illegal. You could
be fined, sentenced to jail, or your license may be suspended.

. ) Learner’'s Permit
In this section you’ll learn about:
Learner’s Permit A learner’s permit allows you to operate a motor vehicle
when a licensed driver at least 21 years of age is seated in the
front passenger seat. The driver with you must hold a valid
driver’s license, be alert and able to assist you while you are
School Bus Driver’s License driving. The licensed driver with you may be age 18, 19, or
20 if he or she is your legal guardian, brother, sister, half-
brother, half-sister, step brother or stepsister. If you are age
19 or older, you must hold a learner’s permit for 60 days, or
International Driver’s License present a driver’s education certificate of completion to apply
for a driver’s license. For more information about obtaining
a learner’s permit, refer to the Parents in the Driver’s Seat
(DMV 16) publication available at www.dmvNOW.com and
DMV customer service centers.

Driver’s License
Commercial Driver’s License

Motorcycle Learner’'s Permit
Motorcycle Driver's License

v Vv Vv Vv VvV Vv v

Driver’s License

A driver’s license allows you to operate any vehicle or small
truck less than 26,001 pounds that is exempt from commercial
driver’s license (CDL) requirements. For more information
about obtaining a driver’s license, refer to the publication
Obtaining a Virginia Driver’s License or Identification Card
(DMV 141) available at www.dmvNOW.com or DMV
customer service centers.
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Commercial Driver’s License

A commercial driver’s license (CDL) allows you to operate
tractor-trailers, passenger buses, tank vehicles, school buses
for 15 or more occupants (including the driver), or vehicles
carrying hazardous materials. For more information about
CDL, refer to the Virginia Supplement to the Commercial
Driver License Manual (DMV 60V) available at
www.dmvNOW.com under forms or any DMV customer
service center.

School Bus Driver’s License

If you wish to operate a school bus designed to carry 15
occupants (including the driver), you do not need to obtain
a commercial driver’s license. However, you will need to
take the commercial driver and school bus tests to obtain the
school bus endorsement on your driver’s license. You will

be restricted to driving a bus designed to carry 15 occupants
(including the driver). This restriction will be printed on your
license. For more information about licensing requirements to
operate larger school buses, refer to the Virginia Supplement
to the Commercial Driver License Manual (DMV 60V)
available at www.dmvNOW.com under forms or any DMV
customer service center.

Motorcycle Learner’'s Permit

A motorcycle learner’s permit allows you to operate a
motorcycle after 4 AM and before midnight. You may operate
the motorcycle only when supervised by a person who is at
least 21 years of age, licensed to operate a motorcycle, and
able to assist you while they are supervising from another
motorcycle or other vehicle riding along with you. No one,
other than the operator, can be on the motorcycle. You
must always wear an approved helmet while operating a
motorcycle in Virginia. For more information, refer to the
Virginia Motorcycle Operator Manual (DMV 2), available at
www.dmvNOW.com or DMV customer service centers.

Motorcycle Driver’s License

If you wish to operate a motorcycle in Virginia, you must pass
the driver’s license two-part knowledge exam, the motorcycle
knowledge exam and the motorcycle road skills test. If you
already hold a driver’s license, you may add a Class M to your
license. If you do not hold a driver’s license, you may obtain
a driver’s license restricted to a Class M that only allows you
to operate a motorcycle. For more information, refer to the
Virginia Motorcycle Operator Manual (DMV 2).
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International Driver’'s License

An international driver’s license is not a valid driver’s
license and does not allow you to drive. It is only a foreign
translation of your existing valid driver’s license to be used
when you are traveling outside of the U.S. These permits
are issued by your local AAA, except to persons whose
driving privilege is suspended or revoked.

If you are visiting the U.S. from a foreign country, you
may drive using your driver’s license issued by your home
country. Your home country driver’s license should be
accompanied by a translation of the license.

International driver’s licenses marketed by private sector
businesses are not valid and do not allow you to legally
operate a motor vehicle. Sale of any document claiming to
be a driver’s license is a Class 1 misdemeanor.



Section 7:

: Other Important
T S nforerton
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Voter Regisuauan 2
Ppplication Farm

to drive
for the first time, new to Virginia or brushing up on your safe
driving knowledge, there are additional requirements that all
Virginia drivers should know.

Receiving License by Mail
In this section you’ll learn about:
Receiving your license by mail You will receive your new drivgr’s Iice.nse in the mail. Eor
security, DMV does not issue licenses in customer service
Address changes centers.
New to Virginia

Titles, registrations, license plates, decals Address Changes
Safety inspections

Insurance requirements If you move, you are required to notify DMV within 30 days.
The postal service will not forward your license to another
address. If DMV does not have your correct address, the
postal service will return the license to DMV.

Applying to register to vote
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Organ, eye and tissue donation

New to Virginia

If you are a new Virginia resident and drive, you must obtain
a Virginia driver’s license within 60 days of moving here.

Titles, Registrations, License Plates,
Decals

Title and register your vehicle and obtain Virginia license
plates within 30 days of moving to Virginia. License plates
must be displayed on the front and rear of the vehicle. Decals
indicating the month and year that the registration expires
must be placed in the designated areas on the plates (except
for vehicles displaying permanent plates).
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You must have the vehicle registration card with you when
operating the vehicle. You must also register your vehicle

in your locality, if required. Check with your city or county
government.

Safety Inspections

Your vehicle must pass an annual vehicle safety inspection
and display a valid safety inspection sticker. In certain
localities, your vehicle also must pass an emissions inspection.
For more information about Virginia safety inspections, visit
the Virginia State Police website at www.vsp.virginia.gov.

Insurance Requirements

To register a vehicle and obtain license plates, you must have
liability insurance or pay the $500 uninsured motor vehicle
fee.

Insure your vehicle with a company authorized to do business
in Virginia. At a minimum, your insurance policy must provide
the following liability insurance coverage:

» $25,000 for injury or death of one person;
» $50,000 for injury or death of two or more people; and
» $20,000 for property damage.

Insurance companies may factor in their policy premium the
driving records of any individual of driving age that resides
within an insured’s household. If you have any questions
regarding the potential impact a newly licensed driver may
have on your policy, you may wish to contact your insurance
agent.

In some cases, liability insurance requirements may be
higher. Refer to www.dmvNOW.com for more information
about DMV’s Insurance Verification Program and Financial
Responsibility Certifications.

Paying the uninsured motorist fee does not provide insurance
coverage, but it allows you to register and operate the vehicle
in Virginia for a one-year period.

Insure your Virginia-registered vehicle during the entire
registration period even if it is not driven or is inoperable.
Before you cancel your insurance, return the license plates to
DMV and cancel the registration.

If you are caught driving without insurance and you did
not pay the uninsured motorist fee, DMV will suspend your
driving privilege until you:

» paya $500 fee, and

» have your insurance company file a certificate that you
have a policy with the required coverage limits. You
will have to file this certificate of insurance for three
years from the date you regain your driving privileges.
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Applying to Register to Vote

You may apply to register to vote or to change your voter
registration mailing address at any DMV office. Indicate your
intentions on the voter registration section of the driver’s
license application. To apply to register to vote in Virginia, you
must be a U.S. citizen, a resident of Virginia, and be at least
18 years old by the next general election. You must have had
your voting rights restored by a circuit court if you have been
convicted of a felony or if you have been declared mentally
incompetent.

To check your voter registration status, contact your local
registrar or the Department of Elections at 1-800-552-9745 or
TDD 1-800-260-3466.

Organ, Eye and Tissue Donation

To sign up to be a donor and save lives, check yes on your
driver’s license, learners permit, or ID card application. For
more information about organ, eye, and tissue donation or to
sign up online, visit www.donatelifevirginia.org.

If you are age 18 or older, your registered decision to be a
donor will be honored. If you are under age 18, you can
indicate your wishes to donate by checking yes; by law, your
parents and guardians must make the final decision. It is
important for all ages to share your decision to be a donor
with your friends and family.
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. This road sign means:
a. Warning of a hazard.
b. Yield right-of-way.
c. Railroad crossing.
d. Speed limit.

2. This road sign means:
a. No U-turn.

c. Turn right or left.

d. Traffic flows only in the direction h

of the arrow.

3. This road sign means:
a. Right lane ends soon, merge left.
b. Soft shoulders.
c. Low place in the road.
d. Lane ends soon, merge right.

N

. This road sign means:
a. Church.
b. First aid station.
c. Four-way intersection.
d. Railroad crossing.

ONE
b. Curve. WAY

5. This road sign means: -
a. You may turn during the red light. NO
b. Pass only in the right lane. TURN
c. One way street. ON
d. Do not turn during the red light. RED

6. If you drive after drinking, be aware that alcohol affects:
a. Your coordination.
b. Your vision.
c. Your judgment.
d. All of these.

7. If you are driving on an icy or slippery road and have to
stop:
a. Apply brakes gently.
b. Apply brakes in a normal manner.
c. Keep foot off brake and let compression stop you.
d. Press brakes firmly.

8. The correct hand signal for stopping is:
a. Right hand and arm pointing downward.
b. Left hand and arm pointing straight out.
c. Left hand and arm pointing downward.
d. Left hand and arm pointing upward.

9. When a school bus stops to load or unload children,
vehicles traveling in the same direction as the bus must:
a. Slow down and proceed with caution.
b. Maintain speed.
c. Stop, then proceed with caution.
d. Stop until all persons are clear and the bus
moves again.

10. If you are involved in a crash, you must:

a. Take the person to the nearest hospital.

b. Continue home and file a crash report.

c. Stop, help any injured, report the crash to the
police, exchange information and notify your
insurance company.

d. Check your car for damages.

Answers on next page.
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Correct Answers
1.A,2.D,3.A,4.C,5.D,
6.D,7.A,8.C,9.D,10.C
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Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles
P O. Box 27412

Richmond, Virginia 23269

(804) 497-7100

This manual is an informational tool. It does not supercede
the Code of Virginia, Virginia Administrative Code or any
other statute. To view Virginia’s motor vehicle laws, refer to
the Virginia Code, Title 46.2.

@ Please recycle.
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