VSA 41 (07/01/2015)



MECHANICS OR STORAGE LIEN APPLICATION

PURPOSE: Use this application to request vehicle information and to apply for a title or non-repairable certificate as a result of a

mechanic's or storage lien, as provided in Va Code §§46.2-644.01, 46.2-644.02 and 46.2-644.03.

INSTRUCTIONS: Complete this application using the instructions provided on page 2 of this form. The vehicle and company must be located in

Virginia and the lien request must be for action that took place in Virginia.

VEHICLE LIEN INFORMATION										
Liens apply only to vehicles. Check applicable box: (both may apply) Was this vehicles.						s vehicle tow	rehicle towed at the direction of law enforcement?			
☐ I have a Storage Lien under Va Code § 46.2-644.01 in the amount of \$ ☐ YES ☐ NO										
☐ I have a Mechanic's Lien under Va Code § 46.2-644.02 in the amount of \$ If yes, enter date towed (mm/dd/yyyy):										
			Tota	1 \$						
		MECHANIC OR	STORAGE L	JENHOLDER II	NFORMA	ATION				
NAME OF COMPANY HOLD	NG VEHICLE						MPANY TEL	EPHONE I	NUMBER	
		1				()		
STREET ADDRESS		CITY				STA	ΛTE	ZIP COD	E	
FEIN OR SOCIAL SECURITY	FEIN OR SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER (Required by the State Comptroller for debt off-set purposes per Va Code §§2.2-803, 2.2-4807, et.al) ACCESS CODE (if application of applica					ible)				
STREET ADDRESS WHERE	VEHICLE IS HELD (i	f different from above)	CITY			STA	TE ZIP CO	DDE	TELEPHONE NUMBER	
		TIT	TI E CEDVIC	E INFORMATIO	NA .				()	
	(Comple	ete this section only if a t				of the lienhold	ler)			
TITLING SERVICE NAME	(ООПЪК	cte this section only if a t	ittirig scrvice is s	donnaing and reques	or or benan			NE NUMBER		
						()		
STREET ADDRESS		CITY				STA	TE	ZIP COD	E	
FEIN OR SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER (Required by the State Comptroller for debt off-set purposes per Va Code §§2.2-803, 2.2-4807, et.al) ACCESS CODE (if applicable) ACCESS CODE (if applicable)						able)				
			VEHICLE IN	FORMATION						
YEAR MAKE			MODEL	В	ODY TYPE		COL	.OR		
LICENSE PLATE NUMBER	STATE	VEHICLE IDENTIFICA	TION NUMBER	VALUE (chec	<u> </u>					
DMV verifies a vehicle's value	using the NADA trad	le in value. If there is goo	nd reason to helic	\$3000 or l		001 to \$12,500				
than \$12,500, you may presen	DMV verifies a vehicle's value using the NADA trade in value. If there is good reason to believe that the vehicle should be valued at \$12,500 or less but the NADA trade in value is more than \$12,500, you may present other creditable evidence to support lowering the vehicle value. An example would be an independent appraisal. This evidence will be reviewed by DMV to determine an appropriate value.									
			INFORMATI	ON REQUEST						
This is to request that DMV furnish information from its files on the above-described vehicle in accordance with Va. Code §§46.2-644.01, 46.2-644.02 and 46.2-644.03. I understand that it is unlawful to use information provided by DMV for any purpose other than the one stated. I certify that the information I have requested with this form will be used only for the stated purpose.										
I further certify and affirm that all information presented in this form is true and correct, that any documents I have presented to DMV are genuine, and that the information included in all supporting documentation is true and correct. I make this certification and affirmation under penalty of perjury and I understand that knowingly making a false statement or representation on this form is a criminal violation.										
AUTHORIZED MECHANIC O	URE					DATE(mm/dd/yyyy)				
AUTHORIZED TITLE SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE NAME (print)				SIGNATURE					DATE(mm/dd/yyyy)	
DMV USE ONLY										
DMV recognized the NADA O	fficial Used Car Guide	e trade in value: \$	Diii V O	NCIC Checked: is	vehicle rep	orted stolen?		YES 🗆	NO	
NADA Trade in Value: (Check			\$3,000 or loss a							
\$3,000 or less and \$3,001 to \$12,500 (DMV may process title application) \$12,501 to \$25,000 (Must petition General District Court)										
CSR STAMP	CSR STAM	P CSR	STAMP	WORK CENTER STAMP	CLERK		RK CENTER AMP	ł	NLETS STAMP	

DEFINITIONS

For the purposes of a mechanic's or storage lien, the following definitions apply:

Trade in Value -- the vehicle value as determined by the NADA OFFICIAL USED CAR GUIDE.

Notice of Intent to Sell <u>Virginia record found</u> -- The mechanic or lienholder must arrange for the vehicle to be sold at a public auction, and at least 10 days prior to the public auction:

- notify the owner and lienholder, if any, by certified mail return receipt, of the date,time and place of the auction, and
- advertise the date, time, place and terms of the auction in at least one public place (see definition below).

Note: If the MSL Transcript indicates that the vehicle owner is on active military duty or service, you must obtain a court order granting the enforcement of the lien as required under the Servicemembers Civil Relief Act, 50 U.S.C. App §535. DMV will begin collecting this information, effective July 1, 2008, on all title and registration applications; therefore the active military duty status will not be available for all customers. As a result, the MSL applicant will be responsible for obtaining the active military duty status from other sources.

Notice of Intent to Sell, No Virginia or non-Virginia record found or the owner's address is unknown -- The mechanic or storage lienholder must arrange for the vehicle to be sold at public auction, and at least 10 days prior to the public auction, advertise the date, time, place and terms of the auction in three different public places (see definition below).

Public Place -- premises owned by the Commonwealth of Virginia or a political subdivision thereof, or an agency of either which is open to the public and permits such postings.

Independent Appraiser - Someone who provides the MSL applicant with an estimated trade-in value appraisal and does not gain income or have personal or business related interest in the ownership or sale of the vehicle.

INSTRUCTIONS

To obtain a Virginia title or Non-Repairable Certificate for the vehicle, follow these instructions according to the vehicle's value.

Vehicle Value:	Instructions:						
\$3,000 or Less	The mechanic or storage lienholder may apply for a title or non-repairable certificate for a motor vehicle, free of all liens and claims of ownership of others, and may sell or otherwise dispose of the vehicle, provided all four of the following conditions are present: • No owner or any other lienholder or secured party was determined by the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). • The vehicle was manufactured at least six years prior to the current model year. • The vehicle has a value of \$3,000 or less. • The vehicle has been in the continuous custody of the mechanic or storage lienholder for at least 30 days. The mechanic's or vehicle storage lien applicant may present to DMV an Application for Certificate of Title and Registration (VSA 17A) with applicable fees or an Application for Non-Repairable Certificate (VSA 57) and this						
	form.						
\$3,001 to \$12,500	The mechanic or storage lienholder must: Request DMV to search title records available for the vehicle owner and lienholder, if any; and Make notice of the intent to sell the vehicle (as described above).						
	 The <u>purchaser</u> (after the auction) must present to DMV all of the following: The results of DMV's record search and a completed Mechanic's or Storage Lien Application (VSA 41, pages 1 & 3); A completed Application for Certificate of Title and Registration (VSA 17A) with applicable fees or a completed Application for Non-Repairable Certificate (VSA 57); A bill of sale from the mechanic or storage lienholder holding the auction; A copy of the public auction notice and location of posting; A copy of the original repair order; and The return receipt for the certified mail, if delivered, or the certified letter (unopened) with the return receipt 						
\$12,501 to \$25,000	attached, if not delivered. The return receipt can be an electronic copy from the U.S. Postal Service. The mechanic or storage lienholder must: Request DMV to search title records available for the vehicle owner and lienholder, if any; and Petition the General District Court, in the city or county where the vehicle is located, to order the sale of the vehicle.						
	 The <u>purchaser</u> must present to DMV all of the following: The results of DMV's record search and a completed Mechanic's or Storage Lien Application (VSA 41, pages 1 & 3) A completed Application for Certificate of Title and Registration (VSA 17A), with applicable fees or a completed Application for Non-Repairable Certificate (VSA 57); and An affidavit (VSA 41, page 3) from the sheriff stating that the vehicle was sold in compliance with the court's order. 						
\$25,001 or More	The mechanic or storage lienholder must: Request DMV to search title records available for the vehicle owner and lienholder if any; and Petition the Circuit Court, in the city or county where the vehicle is located, to order the sale of the vehicle.						
	 The <u>purchaser</u> must present to DMV all of the following: The results of DMV's record search and a completed Mechanic's or Storage Lien Application (VSA 41, page: 1 & 3); Completed Application for Certificate of Title and Registration (VSA 17A), with applicable fees or a complete Application for Non-Repairable Certificate (VSA 57); and An affidavit (VSA 41, page 3) from the sheriff stating that the vehicle was sold in compliance with the court's order. 						



MECHANICS OR STORAGE LIEN APPLICATION

AFFIDAVIT OF COMPLIANCE WITH VA CODE §§ 46.2-644.01 THROUGH 46.2-644.03

PURPOSE: This affidavit must be completed by the mechanic or storage lienholder and must be submitted by the purchaser with

the required documents, fees and taxes.

INSTRUCTIONS: Print or type. Follow the instructions on page 2.

DUDOUACED INFORMATION								
PURCHASER'S NAME		PUR	CHASER INFOR	RMATION		LYELHOLE CAL	F.DATE (mm/dd/ssss)	
PURCHASER'S NAME						VEHICLE SAL	E DATE (mm/dd/yyyy)	
VEHICLE SALE PRICE \$	VEHICLE YEAR	VEHICLE MAK	E VEHIC	LE IDENTIFICATION	I NUMBER (VII	N)		
VEHICLE QUALIFICATION								
Check this box if the vehicle was stored and qualified as abandoned under Va Code §§ 46.2-1209, 46.2-1213 or 46.2-1215 and at least 30 days have passed since the vehicle was towed at the direction of law enforcement. DATE VEHICLE WAS TOWED (Should be same date as on page 1)								
Check this box if the vehicle qualifies to be titled or issued a non-repairable certificate under Va Code §46.2-644.03 when the value is \$3,000 OR LESS. NOTE: The mechanic or storage lienholder may apply to DMV for a Title or a Non-Repairable Certificate for a motor vehicle, free of all liens and claims of ownership of others, and may sell or otherwise dispose of the vehicle if all four of the following conditions are present: • No owner or any other lienholder or secured party of the vehicle was determined by the Virginia DMV. • The vehicle was manufactured at least six years prior to the current model year. • The vehicle has a value of \$3,000 or less. • The vehicle has been in the continuous custody of the mechanic or storage lienholder for at least 30 days.								
		COM	PLIANCE INFO	RMATION				
As the Mechanic or Storage Lienholder, I have: (Check all applicable boxes) applied to DMV for vehicle owner and lienholder information as a result of a Mechanic's or Storage Lien that occurred in Virginia. made reasonable attempts to contact the lienholder(s), if any, by telephone on date(s) of made notice of intent to sell the vehicle under the procedure prescribed by Va Code §§ 46.2-644.01 through 46.2-644.03. arranged for the vehicle to be sold under the procedure prescribed by Va Code §§ 46.2-644.01 through 46.2-644.03.								
CERTIFICATION / AFFIDAVIT								
		CFF	RTIFICATION / A	FFIDAVIT				
(Must be s	signed and dated b				•	of a notary pul	olic.)	
(Must be s I certify that I have complied I further certify and affirm tha the information included in al understand that knowingly m	with the requirements at all information prese	of Va Code § onted in this formation is true are	unic or storage I 46.2-644.03. m is true and corrected correct. I make	ienholder in the	e presence ents I have production affirmation	resented to DMV a	are genuine, and that	
I certify that I have complied I further certify and affirm that the information included in all	with the requirements at all information prese Il supporting document naking a false statemen	of Va Code § onted in this formation is true are ant or represent.	thic or storage I 46.2-644.03. In is true and corrected correct. I make ation on this form is	ienholder in the	e presence ents I have pr nd affirmation on.	resented to DMV a under penalty of p	are genuine, and that	
I certify that I have complied I further certify and affirm that the information included in al understand that knowingly m	with the requirements at all information prese Il supporting document naking a false statemen	of Va Code § onted in this formation is true are ant or represent.	thic or storage I 46.2-644.03. In is true and corrected correct. I make ation on this form is	ienholder in the ct, that any docum this certification ar s a criminal violatio	e presence ents I have pr nd affirmation on.	resented to DMV a under penalty of p	are genuine, and that perjury and I	
I certify that I have complied I further certify and affirm that the information included in al understand that knowingly m	with the requirements at all information prese II supporting document naking a false statemer	of Va Code § onted in this formation is true are not or representation.	thic or storage I 46.2-644.03. In is true and corrected correct. I make ation on this form is	ienholder in the	ents I have produced affirmation on.	resented to DMV a under penalty of p	are genuine, and that perjury and I	
I certify that I have complied I further certify and affirm that the information included in al understand that knowingly m	with the requirements at all information prese Il supporting document laking a false statement INHOLDER NAME (PRIN NOTA city or county of	of Va Code § onted in this for tation is true and or representation.	mic or storage I 46.2-644.03. In is true and correct I make ation on this form is MECHANIC OR ST	ienholder in the	ents I have pund affirmation on. ER SIGNATUR	resented to DMV a under penalty of p	are genuine, and that perjury and I	
I certify that I have complied I further certify and affirm that the information included in all understand that knowingly m MECHANIC OR STORAGE LIE Commonwealth of Virginia, or	with the requirements at all information prese Il supporting document naking a false statement NHOLDER NAME (PRIN NOTA city or county of	of Va Code § onted in this for tation is true and the or representation.	mic or storage In the structure of the structure and correct of the structure of the struct	ienholder in the	ents I have presence ents I have presented affirmation on. ER SIGNATUR public)	resented to DMV a under penalty of p	are genuine, and that perjury and I DATE (mm/dd/yyyy)	
I certify that I have complied I further certify and affirm that the information included in all understand that knowingly m MECHANIC OR STORAGE LIE Commonwealth of Virginia, a sworn before me on this	with the requirements at all information prese Il supporting document laking a false statement INHOLDER NAME (PRIN NOTA city or county of day	of Va Code § onted in this fornitation is true and the or representation of the control of the c	mic or storage In the structure of the structure and correct of the structure of the struct	ienholder in the	ents I have presence ents I have presented affirmation on. ER SIGNATUR public)	resented to DMV a under penalty of p	are genuine, and that perjury and I DATE (mm/dd/yyyy)	
I certify that I have complied I further certify and affirm that the information included in all understand that knowingly m MECHANIC OR STORAGE LIE Commonwealth of Virginia, of sworn before me on this	with the requirements at all information prese Il supporting document laking a false statement INHOLDER NAME (PRIN NOTA city or county of day	of the mechanol of Va Code § 4 Inted in this for tation is true and the or representation of the code	mic or storage I 46.2-644.03. In is true and correct of correct. I make ation on this form is MECHANIC OR STORAGE OF COMPANY OF CO	ienholder in the	ents I have presence ents I have presented affirmation on. ER SIGNATUR public)	resented to DMV a under penalty of p	are genuine, and that perjury and I DATE (mm/dd/yyyy)	
I certify that I have complied I further certify and affirm that the information included in all understand that knowingly m MECHANIC OR STORAGE LIE Commonwealth of Virginia, of sworn before me on this by REGISTRATION NUMBER (6 die	with the requirements at all information prese Il supporting document laking a false statement INHOLDER NAME (PRIN NOTA city or county of day	of Va Code § 4 nted in this forn tation is true an nt or represent. T) ARIZATION ((MONTH) MY COMN NOTARY F	mic or storage I 46.2-644.03. In is true and correct of correct. I make ation on this form is MECHANIC OR ST (must be completed in the city or columns of the city or columns of the complete in the city or columns of the city o	ienholder in the	ents I have presence ents I have presented affirmation on. ER SIGNATUR public)	resented to DMV a under penalty of p	are genuine, and that perjury and I DATE (mm/dd/yyyy)	
I certify that I have complied I further certify and affirm that the information included in all understand that knowingly m MECHANIC OR STORAGE LIE Commonwealth of Virginia, of sworn before me on this by REGISTRATION NUMBER (6 die)	with the requirements at all information prese Il supporting document laking a false statemer INHOLDER NAME (PRIN NOTA city or county of day gits)	of Va Code § 4 nted in this forn tation is true an nt or represent. T) ARIZATION ((MONTH) MY COMM NOTARY F	mic or storage I 46.2-644.03. In is true and corrected correct. I make ation on this form is MECHANIC OR STATE (must be completed in the city or consistency or consiste	ienholder in the	ents I have presence ents I have presented affirmation on. ER SIGNATUR public)	resented to DMV a under penalty of p	are genuine, and that perjury and I DATE (mm/dd/yyyy)	
I certify that I have complied I further certify and affirm that the information included in all understand that knowingly m MECHANIC OR STORAGE LIE Commonwealth of Virginia, of sworn before me on this by REGISTRATION NUMBER (6 dignormal)	with the requirements at all information prese Il supporting document naking a false statement NHOLDER NAME (PRIN NOTA city or county of day gits)	of Va Code § 4 nted in this forn tation is true an nt or represent. T) ARIZATION ((MONTH) MY COMM NOTARY F	mic or storage I 46.2-644.03. m is true and corrected correct. I make ation on this form is MECHANIC OR STORAGE (must be complete) (ry in the city or could select the complete) CUBLIC SIGNATURE SHERIFF'S AFF	ienholder in the	ents I have presence ents I have presented affirmation on. ER SIGNATUR public)	resented to DMV a under penalty of p	are genuine, and that perjury and I DATE (mm/dd/yyyy)	



MECHANICS OR STORAGE LIEN APPLICATION

This Page For DMV Use Only

PURPOSE: Only a DMV Special Agent may complete this section, if requested to inspect a vehicle.

INSTRUCTIONS: The customer service center completes the checklist of documents to be presented to DMV before a title is issued.

			FOR D	MV US	SE ONLY					
All applicants must present a completed VSA 17A or VSA 57, VSA Search Results and all required documentation according to the ve										
		The follow	ing documents are list	ed acco	rding to the vehicle	's loa	an value.			
VEHICLE VALUE:		DOCUME	NTATION REQUIRED:							
Documents presented to DMV for trade in value of		and claims following o	The mechanic or storage lienholder may apply for a title or non-repairable certificate to a vehicle, free of all liens and claims of ownership of others, and may sell or otherwise dispose of the vehicle provided all four of the following conditions are present:							
		☐ The v	The vehicle was manufactured at least six years prior to the current model year.							
		☐ The v	The vehicle has a trade in value of \$3,000 or less.							
		☐ The v	☐ The vehicle has been in the continuous custody of the mechanic or storage lienholder for at least 30 days.							
DMV for trade in value of		Сору	by of public auction notice copy from Undeliver			copy from Undelivere	mail return receipt (signed) or electronic n U.S. Postal Service ed certified mail (unopened) ce(s) notice(s) was/were posted			
DMV for trade in value of			documentation from sheriff				TELLER	STAM	P	
Documents presented to DMV for trade in value of \$25,001 or more Shel			Sale documentation from sheriff heriff must complete the VSA 41 affidavit (page 3)							
CSR REMARKS:								•		
DOCUMENTS WITNESSED BY NAME (print)			WITNESS SIGNATURE						DATE (mm/dd/yyyy)	
VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER (VIN)							ODOMETER READING			
YEAR (yyyy) MAKE			MODEL	BODY TYPE			COLOR			
VIN IS: (Check all applicable Correct Missir	anged	Altered or tampered	LICENSE PLATE NUMBER				STATE	E		
Inspection indicates that cost		SPECIAL AGENT REMARKS								
Appears to be non-re										
Appears to be \$3,000										
Appears to be \$3,00°										
_	-	SPECIAL AGENT DECISION (decision of the special agent is final)						SPECIAL AGENT SEAL		
Appears to be \$12,501 to \$25,000			Process may be	by DMV.						
Appears to be \$25,001 or more			Process must be handled by the court.							
SPECIAL AGENT NAME (print)					CODE NUMBER					
SPECIAL AGENT SIGNATU	JRE				INSPECTION DATE					
					1				1	